The crow film review

11173709_oriUK release date: 10/6/94

Runtime: 102 minutes

Directed by: Alex Proyas

Starring: Brandon Lee, Ernie Hudson, Michael Wincott

Note: This film is available on Now TV at the time of this review.

You’re thrown straight into the plot with this one. Some films you can throw us into straight away without setting anything up, this isn’t one. It did well enough, but I think it could have been a lot better with a smoother start.

And I found that people’s acceptance of the events a bit far fetched. It needed more plot and a little more characterization, but, all in all, I enjoyed it.

It seems typical example of the these kinds of movies from that era. I would love a remake of this. I think it’d do well.

Something else was that it was so DARK. And I don’t mean the film itself, (but, yeah). What I mean is that I had to turn the brightness on my TV to maximum because I couldn’t see a thing.

I thought Brandon Lee was excellent. I really love his voice. I was genuinely surprised because, to be honest, I was expecting some sort of B-movie. He and the top baddie have such GLORIOUS hair too. I want Brandon Lee’s hair!!

But we all know who was the best actor in this film. I mean, there’s no competition really, is there? It’s the crow of course.

It’s a good quality, fast paced, action filled, film that is easy to watch, despite some filler type scenes that was just a lot of shooting.

To sum up, Entertaining, Flimsy plot, Not much Characterization, Brandon Lee is brilliant.

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 4/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Deadpool film review

6 thoughts on “The crow film review

  1. Prime Six 18/02/2016 / 9:42 pm

    What genre is this film? I cant work out the fantasy/ horror/ action/ scifi
    Will deffo give it a shot regardless!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 19/02/2016 / 8:41 am

      It’s based on a comic. He comes back to life and gets revenge. So, it’s dark action? I can’t figure out the genre. :’D

      Liked by 1 person

  2. newguy87 18/02/2016 / 10:26 pm

    Nice Review, now i must wait to see what you thought of the sequels

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Zoë 19/02/2016 / 6:27 am

    I watched this again this past Friday, actually xD I am a big fan of this movie. Yep, messy and flawed at times, but it was really good overall. I really liked the colour in here, how it was all washed out, etc. Brandon Lee certainly had freaking glorious hair, totally in agreement there! I think the movie did really well for a budget film. The sequels, however… why, world, why?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 19/02/2016 / 8:37 am

      I haven’t watched them yet. I do plan to though.

      After watching this, I looked up Brandon Lee and it was so sad how he died. :c

      Liked by 1 person

      • Zoë 19/02/2016 / 9:18 am

        It is a terribly sad story 😦

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

