The amazing Spiderman 2 film review

The_Amazing_Spiderman_2_posterUK release date: 16/4/14

Runtime: 141 minutes

Directed by: Marc Webb

Starring: Andrew Garfield, Emma Stone, Jamie Foxx, Dane DeHaan, Campbell Scott, Embeth Davidtz, Colm Feore, Paul Giamatti, Sally Field

Why do the girlfriend, (or boyfriend), of people that they know to be superheroes ever utter the words, “And don’t be late.”

OF COURSE THEY’RE GOING TO BE LATE!! THEY’RE ALWAYS LATE!! *Heavy breathing*

The previous film was entertaining enough, although I didn’t love it, but this one was sheer agony to sit through. And the only reason I sat through it was to write this review and MOAN about it!

Set eye rolling and sighing to maximum!

To be fair, it’s made to a good standard, good cameras angles and good acting and all that jazz.

But the pace, the plot! It was so boring! It had an amazing opening and the action scenes were pretty cool, but that was it!

I get why Gwen dominated so much of the film, but, wowzas, was it dull. I think they were trying to do too much with this film and ended up doing too little. All the plot ideas were all smushed together and they hoped like hell they stuck.

It took so long to set up and get to the conflict that I didn’t care. All I care about was this film ending.

Somethings I did like was Peter and his Aunt May’s banter. It still disappointed me though because Aunt May wasn’t used much.

The acting was good. I was pretty shocked by Harry. He’s so PRETTY. Forget anyone else, Peter. No girl could rival those pouty lips!

Andrew Garfield is an excellent Spiderman. Unfortunately this isn’t an excellent film to match up with that.

To sum up, Too much plot, Too little plot, Really boring, Forgettable

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 2/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

The amazing spiderman film review

11 thoughts on “The amazing Spiderman 2 film review

  1. sublimereads 17/02/2016 / 12:43 am

    YES HARRY IS TOO PRETTY. Like, the whole time, I was like, who’s that cutie over there? XD I was so sad when he turned green ~ it’s so not his color.
    I’m glad I wasn’t the only one who thought Andrew Garfield was a great Spiderman! I’ve gotten so much hate from fans of the old one 😥
    But this movie was truly subpar 😀 Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 17/02/2016 / 9:09 am

      I feel like Harry and Electro didn’t get enough screen time. They made the whole plot Gwen/Peter centric. I get why, but it didn’t stop the film from being disappointing. And I like Spiderman! D’:

      I liked Tobey Maguire, but I feel as if Garfield got Spiderman’s humour better.

      Liked by 1 person

      • sublimereads 18/02/2016 / 12:19 am

        YES OK THANK YOU! Is it so bad of me to enjoy a sassy, lighthearted superhero movie? Honestly, that’s why I think Deadpool is doing well. Its a pure, comedic action movie. Ryan Reynolds doesn’t cry for all of the third movie 😉 XD
        Have you seen it yet?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 18/02/2016 / 8:49 am

        Yep, I’ve seen it and loved it. I feel Spiderman should be a little more sassy and lighthearted, (obviously not as dirty or triggerhappy as deadpool).

        I’m tired of constant angst. I know some can’t be any other way, like Batman.

        Liked by 1 person

      • sublimereads 19/02/2016 / 12:02 am

        OMG are you gonna review it soon? I can’t wait 😀
        And oh yeah, Batman is the definition of angst XD

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 19/02/2016 / 10:24 pm

        Haha, I forget loads of times if I’ve already read a post or followed someone on twitter. :’D

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Zoë 17/02/2016 / 1:59 pm

    Ahhhh, Dane DeHaan ❤ I am such a fan of the guy, and he is super delicious in here! Sorry to see you didn't enjoy this movie so much. I know that it is flawed, but I still have fun with it 🙂 As for Garfield? He is the perfect Spider-Man!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

