The Avengers: Age of Ultron film review

International-Avengers-Age-of-Ultron-Poster-700x989UK release date: 23/4/15

Runtime: 141 minutes

Directed by: Joss Whedon

Starring: Robert Downey Jr., Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo, Chris Evans, Scarlett Johansson, Jeremy Renner, Don Cheadle, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Elizabeth Olsen, Paul Bettany, Cobie Smulders, Anthony Mackie, Hayley Atwell, Idris Elba, Stellan Skarsgård, James Spader, Samuel L. Jackson

Note: This film is available on Now TV at the time of this review.

Oh my giddy Aunt people! I think…I think I’ve actually caught up on all the superheroey films!!! I don’t know if I should feel happy or sad about this. (Oh, wait, never mind. I haven’t watched The amazing Spiderman 2.)

I enjoyed the humour and quips of the previous avengers film so I was dearly hoping for this film to have that too. Thankfully it does and this film does better at balancing humour, action and plot.

And, wow, was the action intense! It never lets up for an instance. Those who love action will love this!

And the plot is brilliant with some major surprises! Seriously, never saw it coming, but I LOVE it!

I’m continually impressed by the film’s ability to juggle so many characters and making sure their screen time is so well balanced and weaved together without giving you a major headache.

I cannot tell you how much I love the banter between all of the characters. They had me in absolute stitches.

I also enjoyed seeing some minor characters from other marvel films. (So minor they don’t even have names and are in it for two seconds!) It’s that kind of level of detail that makes these films so well made.

I feel as if this film is setting us up for something big. It’s ushered us to the cliff edge and the next film will send us free falling. (Maybe to our deaths, but we’ll have fun while doing it.) I’m excited to see what they do next. I’ve binge watched all of these films, but I’m not sick of them at all.

To sum up, Amazing, fast paced, Action, Hilarious moments, well balanced.

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 5/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Captain America: The first Avenger film review

Guardians of the Galaxy film review

The Avengers film review

Thor: The dark world film review

5 thoughts on “The Avengers: Age of Ultron film review

  1. rakioddbooks 16/02/2016 / 12:17 am

    I wonder if Thanos is going to bring more of the Marvel heroes together, can you imagine the banter between Iron Man and Star-Lord OMG yes! Please!! I wonder if Ant-Man is going to join Captain America’s team.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 16/02/2016 / 8:49 am

      Yes, Starlord and Iron man was my first thought! And Ant man!! I can’t wait wait! I miss Bucky too! D’: And Loki.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Zoë 16/02/2016 / 5:53 am

    I definitely found this better than the last one, but I was still no fan of it :/ I just don’t like it very much when they all come together. I don’t know. Biggest draw for me here was seeing more Captain America, for real. And I did like the relationship between Banner and Romanova growing more, it actually works well. Okay, and I won’t deny loving the bit about Mjölnir and an elevator being worthy of wileding it xD

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 16/02/2016 / 8:51 am

      I burst out laughing with all those quips, like the elevator.

      I was alright with the whole Banner/Romanoff, but they did that in the Hulk movies with Betty so it was kind of, again?!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. newguy87 16/02/2016 / 5:50 pm

    Nice Review, I just which Marvel will give us an actual villain or kill off one of the ever staling heroes

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

