Captain America: The winter soldier film review

UK release date: 26/3/14

Runtime: 136 minutes

Directed by: Anthony Russo, Joe Russo

Starring: Chris Evans, Scarlett Johansson, Sebastian Stan, Anthony Mackie, Cobie Smulders, Frank Grillo, Emily VanCamp, Hayley Atwell, Robert Redford, Samuel L. Jackson

Note: This film is available on Now TV at the time of this review.

Wow! This film is filled with DRAMAAAAA! And I LOVE it!! There’s so many shock twists and turns!

This review’s pretty much going to be a OMG, I loved this and I loved that, kind of thing. Deal with it.

The action never stops in this film, blink and you’ll miss something amazing or important. The pacing is intense and spot on, never letting up for a moment. If you like action then you’ll like this. It’s a very story intensive film.

All the characters are BRILLIANT. Steve Rogers does a lot of majestic posing and why shouldn’t he? He is glorious after all.

I was worried for a little while that Natasha was turning into a damsel in distress, but thankfully my fears were swept away in her badassery. I also love their friendship. Finally, a male and female who are just friends. THANK YOU!

Sam Wilson has to be my favourite. I just love his personality and some of the remarks he makes.

Even the villains are excellent because the scary thing is their evil scheme actually makes sense. I didn’t agree with it at all, but it’s terrifying when you can actually get why they’re doing it. And that makes a brilliant bad guy.

This film has got have one of the best ending I’ve seen in awhile for thirty odd minutes I was glued to the screen and metaphorically biting my nails. The action kept going to the last minute.

Most people I’d spoken to said that they loved this film more than the previous one, (which is still fantastic in my opinion), and I think I’d have to agree. Although, it’s by a slim margin. I cannot wait for the sequel though!

To sum up, amazing characters, Brilliant baddies, intense action scenes

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 5/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Captain America: The first avenger film review

The Avengers film review

Thor: The dark world film review

 

Twitter / Goodreads / Bloglovin

14 thoughts on “Captain America: The winter soldier film review

  1. Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny 13/02/2016 / 12:01 am

    Yea! I knew you’d love this one, Jen! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. newguy87 13/02/2016 / 9:20 am

    Nice review, i am not a fan of the Captain America to good two shoes for me

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 13/02/2016 / 9:23 am

      I just said that to someone on twitter that while I liked the film that Cap himself was too goodie goodie for me. :’D

      Liked by 1 person

      • newguy87 13/02/2016 / 9:25 am

        When it comes to the Marvel gang Thor is my favourite because i like the mythology to his character

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 13/02/2016 / 9:44 am

        Yeah, I’m a fan of mythology. Although, how accurate Thor’s in marvel is up for debate.

        I like the Hulk. I’ve never thought about it in depth so I couldn’t give a proper answer.

        Liked by 1 person

      • newguy87 13/02/2016 / 9:50 am

        well it could be argued that all mythology is up for debate, but at least he isn’t an accidentally superhero like the rest seem to be

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Bieke (Nelly B.) 13/02/2016 / 4:34 pm

    Ahh I love all the Marvel films! Love this one and can’t wait to see Civil War. Though part of me is yelling: STAHP FIGHTING!!! 😭

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 13/02/2016 / 5:12 pm

      I know me too. I can’t wait for it either. I’ve been avoiding all advertising so I have no idea how it’s going to go down!

      Like

      • Zoë 15/02/2016 / 9:01 am

        Absolutely! As long as it is not TOO Tony Stark-centric, we will be fine (we really don’t need another Iron Man movie). However, the trailers look like they have balanced it. Hope so, because The Winter Soldier is not an easy movie to follow from!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 15/02/2016 / 9:05 am

        Yeah, as much as I like Tony, I agree with you.

        I haven’t watched any trailers. I try to avoid them so I’m looking forward to it! \o/

        So many exciting films coming out this year.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

