Deadpool film review

deadpool-2016-comercial-legendado-ac_2016-01-17_190482UK release date: 10/2/16

Runtime: 108 minutes

Directed by: Tim Miller

Starring: Ryan Reynolds, Morena Baccarin, Ed Skrein, T. J. Miller, Gina Carano, Brianna Hildebrand, Stefan Kapičić

I think everyone excited about watching this film had the same question I did before watching it.

Will it live up to the hype and expectations?

Yes and no. Bare with me! Don’t break down it hysterical sobbing. The answer is a little long winded.

In my opinion, this film was always going to be carried by the character rather than the actual plot, (at least for this first film).

And Ryan Reynolds succeeds brilliants at bringing the Deadpool alive. I’d been unsure of him before watching the film, but my doubts were swiftly swept away.

Now, I have never read the comics, but I know enough to know what I was expecting from the character. I burst out laughing and several occasions.

We’re used to goodie two shoes, angst filled characters so, it’s exciting to get a super ‘hero’ who isn’t really a hero.

This film is brilliant because of Ryan Reynolds he carried us through. The action scenes are fantastic. The dialogue and the music also. On the walk home, I caught myself smiling at funny scenes.

Which brings me to my No.

The pacing is off. Sometimes it’s stilted. They had to introduce Deadpool’s character while still giving us a great story.

The back story is needed, but you can’t help feeling impatient to get back to the fun parts. I was never bored through this film, but there are definitely parts better than others. (I wasn’t a fan of the ending, but that’s because I’m heartless.)

For once, I think the sequel, (there better be a sequel D:<), will do even better than this one because it won’t have to introduce anything. It can just get on with a, hopefully, brilliantly paced, action filled plot with the hilariously wonderful Ryan Reynolds.

All in all, I loved the film and definitely recommend watching it. (Although don’t take your kids!) The pacing and plot take it down a few notches, but Ryan Reynolds makes it all worth it.

(P.S. Be sure to wait until after the credits for the extra scene!!)

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 4/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

X-men: First class film review

The Wolverine

13 thoughts on “Deadpool film review

  1. garethrhodes 11/02/2016 / 5:34 pm

    I’m anticipating this being the film to convince me it’s plausible to like Ryan Reynolds. Nice review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. emmakwall 15/02/2016 / 3:12 pm

    Very fair review, not that I’ve seen it yet but I can imagine it’s much more character driven than anything else. Seems a little long at 108 minutes too. But does sound (and look) hilarious!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 15/02/2016 / 11:41 pm

      I think the fact that they have the whole introducing the characters and backstory to set up makes it stumble a bit. It’s why I think the sequel will be better.

      It’s worth watching though! I enjoyed it purely for Deadpool.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

