The death cure by James Dashner book review

7864437

Thomas knows that Wicked can’t be trusted, but they say the time for lies is over, that they’ve collected all they can from the Trials and now must rely on the Gladers, with full memories restored, to help them with their ultimate mission. It’s up to the Gladers to complete the blueprint for the cure to the Flare with a final voluntary test.

What Wicked doesn’t know is that something’s happened that no Trial or Variable could have foreseen. Thomas has remembered far more than they think. And he knows that he can’t believe a word of what Wicked says.

The time for lies is over. But the truth is more dangerous than Thomas could ever imagine.

Will anyone survive the Death Cure?

I felt incredibly disconnected all throughout this book. For a long while I puzzled over why. I mean, the writing was well done. Dashner has improved at his craft with each book.

The first book wasn’t well written, the second was and The third was to the same standard. No, I think it’s the story itself or lack of.

The blurb is highly misleading which sets us off to a bad start. Not only that, the book feels unfinished as if the Author ran out of ideas after the second book, (which I found the most enjoyable or rather the only one enjoyable).

The book drags on. There’s no tension at all. The characters seem to flit aimlessly from place to place. I found them incredibly passive.

And when we finally get to the point which is literally the last fifty or so pages, it feels abrupt and silly. My feeling when it ended was, that’s it?

The first two books had made a point of throwing mystery and piling doubts up. There are no secret twists. No shocking climaxes. I was really disappointed. There’s nothing to this book at all as if Dasnher was stuck and didn’t know how to end it.

Everything feels too convenient. I never once felt worried about them. I never felt anything about them. Scenes that should have pulled a response from me didn’t because they were done in an abrupt way. My reaction was mostly, “Well that happened.”

Besides Thomas, (who I’ll get to in a minute), none of the other characters had a chance to shine. They didn’t do anything. The third person POV of Thomas becomes incredibly restrictive. Especially because he’s so annoying!

He can’t commit to an emotion and spends half his time moping about girls. He drove me bananas.

Along with the little added un-needed sentences like, Thomas waited to here what so and so had to say. And then the person proceeded to have their say.

Why was that first sentence needed? Why? All of these annoyances built up over time to frustrate. All the more because Dashner is a good writer and he had a good plot. He’s brilliant at action, but characters are NOT his strong point.

I would try James Dashner again because I feel he did improve with each book and have faith that I may enjoy future books.

For me, this series is not worth reading because the conclusion wasn’t worth it at all. I found it insulting to be honest. And I have no intention of reading the prequel, The kill order, because why should I care about the beginning when the ending was so disappointing?

To sum up, Good writing, No plot, Annoying main character

Was it worth the read? No

Would I re-read? No

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Stars: 2/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

The maze runner book review

The maze runner film review

The scorch trails book review

The scorch trails film review

Leave a Reply

