Ex machina film review

UK release date: 21/1/15

Runtime: 108 minutes

Directed by: Alex Garland

Starring: Domhnall Gleeson, Alicia Vikander, Oscar Isaac

Note: This film is available on Now TV at the time of this review.

It has an intriguing start, throwing you in the deep end, not telling you a thing and I was like, Oooooh, what’s happening?!!

Early one, even though nothing ‘bad’ has happened, I was fill with a sense of unease and thinking, Oh no, something bad’s going to happen at the end of all this. It had done well to build tension from the start.

The film is absolutely fascinating and I wish I’d have been able to see it in the cinema. I think the full effect of the big screen would have been amazing. You’re not going to get big, bang, thrilling action. This film creeps up on you insidiously. Something is wrong and it is not until the very, very end that you find closure on this.

Imagine me shocked when I discovered they made this film in just six weeks on a budget of $15 million.

The three main actors…WOW. All three were stunningly brilliant and I couldn’t say one surpasses the other. I mean, I’m not surprised. I know all three of these actors and love them.

But, I have to mention Alicia Vikander specifically because her portrayal of Ava was awe inspiring. I recently saw her in The Danish girl and she’d been my favourite in that. She’s an actress I’ll watch out for from now on. Domhnall Gleeson was also brilliant. I was completely captivated by their performances.

And that ending. It took my breath away!! The music further helped to get my heart racing and amped the tension throughout not just at the end.

To sum up, What an ending, Makes you think, Stunning acting

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 5/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

The Danish girl film review

Chappie film review

26 thoughts on “Ex machina film review

    • Combustible reviews 10/02/2016 / 9:15 am

      I know! Ughh! I saw it in the cinema and meant to see it, but never managed it! D:<

      Like

      • Film Music Central 10/02/2016 / 2:18 pm

        I’m still irked that it wasn’t nominated for more Oscars, and you know, every time I see it, the ending (regarding Caleb) still gets to me!!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury 10/02/2016 / 6:02 am

    Ooh I hadn’t heard of this one before! Must look it up. XD I am so slack at keeping up with movies, even like the famous ones, gah…but this really sounds awesome. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 10/02/2016 / 9:16 am

      It’s only since I started my blog that I’ve caught up with all the films or else I never used to get round to seeing them!

      Thanks for stopping by here too. \o/

      Like

  2. Zoë 10/02/2016 / 6:21 am

    Big fan of this one for so many reasons. It really was a little slice of perfection.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. badfeelingreviews 10/02/2016 / 11:04 pm

    Great review, we did one too, pretty much loved it as much as you. Alicia had an amazing year hope it continues and Oscar Isaac must soon win an award, preferably the one that bears his first name.

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 25/02/2016 / 12:16 pm

      Hey! Sorry for the late reply for some reason wordpress put this in the spam folder. D: I know, I loved Alicia in The Danish girl and Oscar in Star wars. They’re two solid Actors.

      Like

      • badfeelingreviews 25/02/2016 / 3:18 pm

        Not caught Danish Girl yet but imagine she is the best part. There’s just been a trailer released for a new film with her and Michael Fassbender, looks like an emotional one

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 25/02/2016 / 5:05 pm

        I love Michael Fassbender too so that’s good news! Yeah, for me she was the best part of The Danish girl.

        Liked by 1 person

      • badfeelingreviews 25/02/2016 / 9:57 pm

        We love Fassbender too, don’t know if you have seen Steve Jobs yet we just reviewed it today, big recommendation

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Nthato Morakabi 12/02/2016 / 7:32 am

    I was about to watch this film the other day and then I got distracted by something else haha. It;s definitely on my To-Watch list

    Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 16/02/2016 / 10:14 am

        Eek!!! I have the capacity to watch Now TV I think…..I will look when I get home. I keep forgetting about it but it’s been on my watch list since cinema release lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 16/02/2016 / 2:07 pm

        I hardly get round to watching ANY films at the cinema, I’m too lazy! Lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 16/02/2016 / 3:08 pm

        Since I’ve gotten an unlimited card, I go quite often, but, yeah, there a days when I can’t be bothered! D:

        Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 16/02/2016 / 3:28 pm

        Cineworld!!! My brother is going to get an unlimited card when he passes his driving test. I must admit I kinda prefer watching movies at home a lot of the time but he prefers cinema. Those unlimited cards are great!

        Like

      • Combustible reviews 16/02/2016 / 3:33 pm

        I worked out you’d only have to go at least twice a month to make the card worth the price!

        I prefer being at home, but I can’t watch new releases from there. D’: Although, I love going on my own and it’s quite relaxing.

        Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 16/02/2016 / 4:29 pm

        The cinema is literally the ideal place to go alone so I have no idea why some people are funny about it. I HATE talking (or rustling, or breathing…) in the cinema anyway, that’s actually one of the things that puts me off – other people!! Yes I can be anti-social sometimes lol.

        I do download the odd new release film, but don’t tell anyone!!!!! 😉

        And twice is month is nothing, for a cinephile like you!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 16/02/2016 / 4:45 pm

        I know. Some people feel embarrassed to go on their own. I love it. Pick a seat where no one else is sitting. It’s rare for my cinema to get busy and the times I go , there’s rarely more than ten in.

        High five for anti social people! o/\o

        Like

Leave a Reply

