Dad’s army film review

UK release date: 5/2/16

Runtime: 100 minutes

Directed by: Oliver Parker

Starring: Bill Nighy, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Toby Jones, Tom Courtenay, Michael Gambon, Blake Harrison, Daniel Mays, Bill Paterson

I have never watched the TV series so I can’t compare the two. I can only give you my impression of the film. I was interested in this because British comedy appeals to my funny bone.

To me, this film smacks of fan service for all those people who love the TV series, not a bad thing, but it isn’t going to do well if it doesn’t appeal to anyone else.

ALTHOUGH! The cinema was fairly packed, (for my cinema), and there had to be at least one person who loved the TV series and yet no one laughed except once or twice.

I don’t know about anyone else, but I was bored to tears. The plot , of what there was, was so slow. Eventually, I was just waiting for it to end.

It focused mainly on one or two of the men in the home guard. I was disappointed that most of them took a back seat. Michael Gambon was my favourite, but he was hardly in it.

I haven’t much to say about this film. Those who love the TV series may be the only people who’d enjoy this film, but I can’t guarantee that because, as I said, I haven’t seen it.

To sum up, Not funny, So slow, Dull

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 2/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

The lady in the van film review

Bill film review

7 thoughts on “Dad’s army film review

  1. sjhigbee 08/02/2016 / 5:58 pm

    Oh, what a shame! My granddaughter loves the TV series and I had wanted to take her to the film – but if it is so poor, then I don’t think I shall bother… Thank you for a frank, readable review:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. garethrhodes 08/02/2016 / 6:07 pm

    I remember the TV show well, but I have a strong feeling of apathy towards this. Now I’m absolutely certain that I don’t want to see it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emmakwall 15/02/2016 / 3:16 pm

    Such a shame! I’ve read a few bad reviews for this (well, pretty much entirely bad reviews lol) and I had had pretty high hopes when I saw who was in the cast a little while ago. Oh well! Back to the drawing board, maybe a new idea this time?! Haha. Great review Jen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 15/02/2016 / 11:40 pm

      I know, I love most of the cast, but we hardly see most of them. It’s the first film in awhile that has bored me so badly.

      Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 16/02/2016 / 10:14 am

        Boo! I might have to watch it on DVD just to see, what a shame though. I’ve been championing this film for a year or so! What a mug! Ha ha.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

