Weekly update

So, today I’m going to be informing you about two things, Rainbowthon and a new post schedule for the blog.

Let’s start with the schedule. I will still be posting daily, but it’ll be once daily. Right now, on Wednesdays and Sundays I post twice.

As much as I love it, it’s sucking up all my free time which would fantastic if I had no other hobbies…but I do!

So therefore the new schedule looks a little something like this –

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday = Film reviews

Wednesday and Saturday = Book reviews

Sunday = Weekly update

I hope you’re all OK with the new schedule! It gives me a chance to spend a little of my time on other things, such as writing.

NOW, onto the second subject! RAINBOWTHON! \o/

More specifcally Rainbowthon 2.0. It’s a reading challenge in its second year, (hence the 2.0).You can find more about it here.

It’s being run by gingerreadslainey, rilaaaay1, openasthesky and BOOKadooodles

It’s starts, well, TODAY! There’s still time to join in though. From the 7th to 14th of February. You basically choose 4 – 6 books to read over the course of the week.

They have to be colours from the rainbow. Red, yellow, green, orange, purple, blue (indigo counts as blue). You can choose all your books to be one specific colour.

You can tweet about it using #rainbowthon on twitter. If you are, let me know in the comments and link me your twitter so I can stalk you!

OK, so onto the bit everyone’s really interested in. In no particular order, My choices! \o/ 

BOOKS

Red = Battle royale by Koushun Takami

I’ve been looking forward to reading this for aaaaages. I’m doing a buddy read of it with @mybookjacket because choosing a book of over 600 pages to read in one day clearly mean we’re geniuses. We did start reading this yesterday because of this.

Orange = Ready player one by Ernest cline

Another one I’ve been super excited to read. I’ve heard a lot about this book and it’s right up my alley.

Blue The infinite sea by Rick Yancey

This is the sequel to The fifth wave which I’ve read, (obviously), and enjoyed so I always planned to read the next one. Fingers crossed I like this one too!

Green = Harry Potter and the chamber of secrets by J K Rowling

This is a re-read for me. I haven’t read this series since they were first published so I’m long overdue it. I’m expecting to drown myself in tears of nostalgia. (The spine is green. It totally counts.)

download (4)

Purple = The legacy by R. A. Salvatore

This is probably the only book on the list that’s a little bit of a risk. The blurb interests me, but we’ll see if I enjoy it or not

YellowThe bees by Laline Paull

Just look at that glorious cover! It’s BEAUTIFUL! I would probably have never noticed this book before if it hadn’t have been @mybookjacket who recommended it to me. It isn’t my usual kind of reading, but I am insanely excited to read it!

Most of these I’ll also be doing book reviews on except Harry Potter because we don’t need another person recommending you Harry Potter. It’s awesome. Read it. There you go.

Also, a shout out to some other bloggers taking part in rainbowthon! (Sorry if I missed anybody! D:)

Books and strips

Comfy reading

The dream carriers

Freedom Library

Stellar scrutiny

Caity reads

Confessions of a literary addict

Are you doing rainbowthon? Let me know in the comments!

26 thoughts on “Weekly update

  1. comfyreading 07/02/2016 / 10:41 am

    Yay! Can’t wait to get started :). Let me know how Infinite Sea is! Also, my twitter is @comfyreading.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 07/02/2016 / 10:45 am

      I went to stalk you on twitter and realized I’d already begun stalking you o.o

      I’m looking forward to The infinite sea, can’t wait to find out what happens.

      What’s your first read for rainbowthon?

      Liked by 1 person

      • comfyreading 07/02/2016 / 10:46 am

        Umm..I can’t remember what its called at the moment! lol It’s the purple book though. I don’t even know if I’ll be able to start today. I’m in the middle of a really good book, and I am the type of person that cannot read two books at a time. Hopefully I can start later today if I finish the other book 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 07/02/2016 / 10:47 am

        Ah, same here. I have to read one book at a time. I could never read two or more on the go. D:

        I’m on red! \o/

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Rachel 07/02/2016 / 12:34 pm

    This is an awesome idea! I think I may join. Or try it. We’ll see how far I get, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny 07/02/2016 / 6:27 pm

    I’m so excited to get started today! 😀

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 07/02/2016 / 7:28 pm

      I’ve got just over 100 pages to read and five odd hours until midnight so I think I’ll finish it.

      How about you?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny 07/02/2016 / 10:00 pm

        I have about 150 pages left in my book, and it’s only 2 PM in California, so I think I’ll make it. Haha. But…it’s Superbowl Sunday. That complicates matters. LOL.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 07/02/2016 / 10:10 pm

        Fantastic! I just finished mine. It’s 10pm here. I considered starting another, but I’m a little tired so I’m not sure if I will.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny 07/02/2016 / 10:12 pm

        Sweet! Well, you could always just read until you drop asleep. lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny 07/02/2016 / 10:36 pm

        Hahaha. Reading is the reason for the occasional bags under my eyes! XD

        Liked by 1 person

  4. emmakwall 15/02/2016 / 3:16 pm

    You’re a hard working blogger Jen!! I wish I had half your stamina!!!

    #wereallinthistogether

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 15/02/2016 / 11:39 pm

      Haha, thanks. It’s that schedule! It keeps me on track! D: I enjoy it. Some days, I’m like, Ughhhhhh! But I know I’d regret giving in to my laziness.

      Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 16/02/2016 / 10:15 am

        I’m going to try and follow your lead!! Having a schedule is a very good idea, I’m too sporadic at the moment ha ha.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 16/02/2016 / 10:16 am

        I think I’ve just about worked out a nice balance so I don’t overload myself and zap all the enthusiasm from it.

        If it helps, go for it! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 16/02/2016 / 2:07 pm

        I think I will, just doing two posts a week would be a step up for me! One review perhaps and one ‘something else’ lol. Are you joining in with Opinion Battles this week?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 16/02/2016 / 2:35 pm

        Which is it? I think I am. I need to check the email with all the info. Darren’s going to be telling us off again. 😮

        Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 16/02/2016 / 2:42 pm

        Haha, noooo! I can’t take another telling off! It’s least favourite Best Picture at the Oscars (of all time) and needs to be submitted before Sunday. Quite a tough one!

        Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 16/02/2016 / 3:28 pm

        That’s okay! I’m just protecting our necks 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

