The girl on the train by Paula Hawkins book review

22557272

EVERY DAY THE SAME

Rachel catches the same commuter train every morning. She knows it will wait at the same signal each time, overlooking a row of back gardens.

She’s even started to feel like she knows the people who live in one of the houses. ‘Jess and Jason’, she calls them. Their life – as she sees it – is perfect. If only Rachel could be that happy.

UNTIL TODAY

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough.

Now everything’s changed. Now Rachel has a chance to become part of the live she’s only watched from afar.

Now they’ll see: she’s much more than just the girl on the train…

I was completely absorbed while reading this book. I mean, I finished it in one night that was how desperate this book made me to find what had happened.

Yet..after I finished this book, I started to realize it wasn’t as good as when I was reading. Lots of issues starting coming to mind after I’d had time to mull over it.

The book throws a lot of brilliant red herrings your way. It had me accusing everyone. Yet, even though I was unsure who did it until near the end, on page 93 I had figured out who’d done it and this person was my number one suspect all through out.

It’s pretty obvious, (in a bad way), who did it when you think about it. (Coming from someone who watches a TON of murder mysteries and ALWAYS gets it wrong.)

And also, there is one particular piece of information that the police get a hold of and, while I think I know how, it isn’t explained well and felt a little convenient.

As soon as the book starts, you feel uneasy and that feeling continues to creep over your shoulder through the entire book. It’ll have checking your doors are locked.

We read the book from three different POV’s of three women who are all connected. This is great. I loved it, but unfortunately the strength of the POV’s were not all equal.

In fact, you could’ve cut one of the women’s POV out because, while interesting, she didn’t add much to the story. Either they should have all had the same impact or strength or the Author should have stuck to one or two of the POV’s.

Still, each character is brilliant, very realistic, and very flawed. I can believe there are people who react in such ways.

Another thing that disappointed me was the ending. It was very abrupt. I felt like it wrecked all the anticipation. It was very anti-climatic.

Still, even though my impression of the book has waned, I was enthralled by reading it. I couldn’t get to the next sentence quick which is the main thing. I enjoyed the heck out of it while reading.

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? No

Would I read the Author again? Yes

Stars: 4/6

7 thoughts on “The girl on the train by Paula Hawkins book review

  1. Rachel 07/02/2016 / 12:37 pm

    I’ve heard so many good things about this book. It’s on my list, but I have yet to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bound to Be Me 07/02/2016 / 8:49 pm

    This book is definitely on my to read list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emmakwall 15/02/2016 / 3:19 pm

    I read this quickly as well and thoroughly enjoyed it but I did half wonder if that was because it was what I call an ‘easy read’. Which I don’t mean in a snobby way or anything (I love easy reads!) but I’m sure you know what I mean.

    Having said that I enjoyed the mystery, I didn’t work out who had done it nearly as quickly as you haha, and having the protagonist as an alcoholic woman ‘on the edge’ did make a change I suppose! I wouldn’t read it again though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 15/02/2016 / 11:38 pm

      I completely get what you mean by an easy read. I think it was the same way for me.

      I think I was lucky figuring it out. I just had a flash of, Ooooooh, because why else was ‘that person’ in the story? I usually end up acussing everyone, but the person who did it! :’D

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

