Goosebumps film review

images (4)UK release date: 5/2/16

Runtime: 103 minutes

Directed by: Rob Letterman

Starring: Jack Black, Dylan Minnette, Odeya Rush, Amy Ryan, Ryan Lee, Halston Sage, Jillian Bell

The film opens with a brilliant music score that immediately puts you in the mind of Goosebumps. In fact, my favourite part of the entire film is the music score. It’s excellent!

The beginning is a little awkward as if they didn’t quite find the balance of setting up the film and getting on with the fun stuff.

The pace is off throughout the whole film and there isn’t much story because of this. (The cliche romance is there. WHY? What kid wants to watch that?)

But! The monsters are fantastic and great fun and while it wasn’t scary to me, I think it was the right mix of being just frightening enough for the viewers it’s aimed at.

There were ALOT of monsters in this film. On one hand, that’s brilliant. The other is that you only got a moment or two with them. I also think it may encourage some to actually pick one of the books, which would be fantastic!

I found Jack Black to brilliant, really committing to the role, but, to be honest, he’s one of those actors I tend to like in anything. And his jokes were the only things I laughed at.

The three teenagers were good too. I can imagine them in a goosebumps horror. My favourite of the kids is Champ (Ryan Lee). We are all that kid. At least I am, I’m definitely not a Zach.

I would have liked Hannah (Odeya Rush) and Zach (Dylan Minnette) more if they hadn’t fell into cliche roles.

Adults will most likely find this alright to watch, but nothing special. For kids, I think it’s the perfect introduction to the horror genre and maybe to encourage those reluctant readers. I know I’m going to pick up R. L. Stine’s books!

Was it worth the watch? For children, it would be. Me? No.

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 3/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Pan film review

14 thoughts on “Goosebumps film review

  1. newguy87 06/02/2016 / 10:39 am

    Nice review I personally loved this one bought back all the memories of the show

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 06/02/2016 / 10:40 am

      I only have vague memories of the show as it was a long time ago I watched it. (And I have a terrible memory). So the nostalgia element wasn’t there for me.

      Liked by 1 person

      • newguy87 06/02/2016 / 10:41 am

        This is what I wanted a scooby do movie to be

        Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 06/02/2016 / 1:58 pm

      I KNOW! No kid is interested in that.

      It’s technically a spoiler, but it annoyed me so much I had to have a moan about it.

      Like

      • MyBookJacket 06/02/2016 / 3:56 pm

        I’m still not interested in it. Rofl. You’ve just saved me from watching it.

        Like

  2. alexraphael 06/02/2016 / 4:04 pm

    Read one or two of the films as a kid. Nice to know the film is being made. Sounds fun.

    Like

      • alexraphael 06/02/2016 / 4:46 pm

        I was watching the analysis on Film 2016. Explained why it should do well for its intended demographic so hopefully will inspire more films to be made of children’s books.

        Like

      • Combustible reviews 06/02/2016 / 4:54 pm

        That would be great. They’ve got The BFG and Through the looking glass coming out this year too.

        Like

  3. The Galaxial Word 08/02/2016 / 8:05 am

    A week after watching it, I’m still wondering who this movie is aimed at. Is it aimed at young adults? Coz then it wouldn’t be anywhere as timid as it was. Is it aimed at young children? Because then some of the references (“wait a whataphile??”) would probably go straight over their heads. I dunno. It’s definitely not aimed at adults, or else the monsters would be a lot scarier. I just don’t think they had a clear audience in mind, and that’s where it failed for me 😦 It was still a good movie though 😀 I liked the way they managed to merge all the stories into one all-encompassing movie rather than going through the books individually with a short movie for each one – which would have been tedious not to mention boring.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

