Into the woods film review

UK release date: 9/1/15

Runtime: 124 minutes

Directed by: Rob Marshall

Starring: Meryl Streep, Emily Blunt, James Corden, Anna Kendrick, Chris Pine, Tracey Ullman, Christine Baranski, Johnny Depp, Lilla Crawford, Daniel Huttlestone
I actually didn’t know this was a musical when it started so that was a bit of a surprise. A nice one though because I love musicals, too bad they’ve not made a comeback.

Note: This film is available on Now TV at the time of this review

This is based off a musical. I’m going to venture a guess that it’s better as a musical. BUT! This is still an enjoyable, whimsical film. It’s the kind of film you watch as a group where you’ll get up singing and dancing like lunatics.

Most of the film is fun and enjoyable, except for the last half an hour which derailed into a too quick conclusion which at the same time felt so, so long. I felt as if the story was never going to end. (I know, I’m contradictory.)

There were also a few loose ends in the plot that were never answered. Just…the entire conclusion was weird and leave it at that. OK?!

I like CLOSURE, OK?! Ambiguous endings are not my thing. I want an ending nice shiny wrapping with a bow on it. Even if it’s a sad ending.

I enjoyed most of the actors in it except, shockingly (because I love him), Johnny Depp. I just found him kind of flat and his part in the movie abrupt.

I loved Lilla Crawford. I enjoyed her character, thought she was sassy and I liked her singing, (if it was her singing). Either way, whoever sang, I liked it.

It’s an enjoyable film. Best enjoyed by young girls or with a group friends/family.

To sum up, Last half an hour DRAGGED, Fun and light heated, Some giggles, Good singing, Bad singing

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 4/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Cinderella film review

The sound of music film review

4 thoughts on “Into the woods film review

  1. The Galaxial Word 05/02/2016 / 12:45 pm

    I actually won free tickets to this a while ago and I can’t quite remember what it was about. But I remember I really enjoyed the way they threaded all the fairytales together into one cohesive storyline. I thought that was very clever 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rachel 05/02/2016 / 3:18 pm

    I didn’t hear great things about this movie, but I still intend on watching it sometime. If not for the plot, but for the actors.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

