The second best exotic Marigold hotel film review

UK release date: John Madden

Runtime: 122 minutes

Directed by: 26/2/15

Starring: Judi Dench, Bill Nighy, Penelope Wilton, Tina Desai, Lillete Dubey, Maggie Smith, Celia Imrie, Rajesh Tailang, Ronald Pickup, Dev Patel, Richard Gere

This a sequel to, yep, you guessed, The best exotic Marigold hotel, (which is utterly brilliant and I highly recommend you watch it! I would have given it 6/6.)

And while, this isn’t as good, which, to be fair, would be difficult for an sequel, it’s still fantastic. It doesn’t really offer anything new in the ways of plot after the first film, but it’s entertaining all the way through. It’s so incredibly well made and plot points are introduce so seamlessly.

Yes, the all star cast, is one of those reasons. They’re brilliant and make me smile. The film does an excellent job at handling the big cast and balancing each of their viewpoints.

But, to me, there’s one Actor in particular that shines and enhances the film above the rest and that is Dev Patel. He just exudes energy in this film, putting over 100 % in each film. I could gush on and on about him in this, but, for the sake of my dignity, go and watch both films.

Of course, my second favourite was Muriel Donnelly (Maggie Smith). How can anyone not love that grumpy old lady?

This is a brilliantly entertaining and refreshingly different film. The comedy is brilliant and not lewd at all which is a relief. If you want a relaxing, heartwarming film that’ll have your cheeks hurting from smiling then this is for you.

To sum up, Dev Patel is AMAZING, So are the rest of them, but DEV PATEL, Well made, Funny

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 5/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Bill film review

The lady in the van film review

8 thoughts on “The second best exotic Marigold hotel film review

      • driftinglexi 04/02/2016 / 9:12 am

        I honestly can’t really remember it, I had to watch it at college I think.

        Like

  1. Film Music Central 04/02/2016 / 3:42 pm

    I couldn’t help but laugh a little when I saw the title of this film, it makes total sense given that it’s a sequel 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MyBookJacket 04/02/2016 / 3:59 pm

    I haven’t even watched the first one. I remember watching 20 minutes of it then got bored.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 04/02/2016 / 5:42 pm

      I loved the first one! It does have a very British humour to it which is my favourite kind of comedy tbh so it was always going to appeal to me. And it’s so pretty!

      Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 05/02/2016 / 2:16 am

        I love British humour too but I guess the theme was boring to me. I don’t think Indians like non Indian movies based in India. (I don’t even like Indian movies in general)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

