Pride and prejudice and zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith book review

5899779

“It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie of brains must be in want of more brains.”

So begins Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, an expanded edition of the beloved Jane Austen novel featuring all-new scenes of bone-crunching zombie mayhem.

As our story opens, a mysterious plague has fallen upon the quiet English village of Meryton—and the dead are returning to life! Feisty heroine Elizabeth Bennet is determined to wipe out the zombie menace, but she’s soon distracted by the arrival of the haughty and arrogant Mr. Darcy.

What ensues is a delightful comedy of manners with plenty of civilized sparring between the two young lovers—and even more violent sparring on the blood-soaked battlefield. Can Elizabeth vanquish the spawn of Satan? And overcome the social prejudices of the class-conscious landed gentry?

Complete with romance, heartbreak, swordfights, cannibalism, and thousands of rotting corpses, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies transforms a masterpiece of world literature into something you’d actually want to read.

It’s the zombies that made do it. Read the book, I mean. I’m a sucker for zombies. And I had a morbid curiosity about how well zombies would be weaved into Jane Auten’s Pride and prejudice.

I’ve watched the TV shows and the films so I mostly know the story despite not having read the original book except for a few chapters. (I plan to read it all the way through one day.)

SO! Without further ado!

This book is incredibly description heavy. It’s also very slow, often going on detours and whims. I know I was hankering after more dialogue!

I also wanted Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth to have more encounters. They didn’t seem to be in each others company for much of the book, which is kind of the point, considering.

The whole added zombie element did not really have a massive effect on the plot and I would’ve liked it to have been weaved in better.

And yet, despite all the negatives, I was thoroughly entertained. It isn’t a brilliant book, but I enjoyed it all the same. And I enjoyed all the little dramas we read over even if it stopped the story moving forward on occasion.

Seth Grahame-Smith obviously had a load of fun with this book. The first time I spotted a dirty joke, it was so subtle I thought the Author probably hadn’t realized how it read. By the second, I was cackling, as you do.

But it wasn’t only that this book was incredibly fun. I feel as if the Author managed to capture the voice of the characters and the tone of the book beautifully.

I don’t know how much of the text is purely Jane Austen’s work, but either way, it worked seamlessly. I loved the zombie aspect even though it wasn’t so important to the plot. It was just good fun.

To sum up, Description heavy, Slow, Good fun

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? No

Would I read this Author again? Yes, to both Authors.

Stars: 4/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

A Christmas carol of the living dead book review

Through the looking glass and what Alice found there book review

9 thoughts on “Pride and prejudice and zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith book review

  1. rakioddbooks 03/02/2016 / 10:17 am

    i’m also currently reading this book. I’m enjoying it too but the more I read the less I like Elizabeth. And it feels slow, but every time it turns out I’ve read a lot more than I imagined. Glad you liked it! I hope I like it ’til the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MyBookJacket 03/02/2016 / 1:18 pm

    Wow, I did not expect this to get a good review. I was so sceptical. But this is good to know.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 03/02/2016 / 1:24 pm

      The heavy description and many twists and turns got aggravating at times, but I enjoyed it all the same. I think you have to be in the mood for it too.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. sublimereads 03/02/2016 / 3:53 pm

    I felt the same! It was lacking dialogue (and honestly some of the descriptions weren’t necessary) but it was a fun read! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Film Music Central 03/02/2016 / 4:17 pm

    I first heard about this book and I wasn’t too sure about it, but now that I’ve seen the trailer for the movie, I LOVE this idea. Should probably try the book before I see the movie.

    Like

  5. DJ (@MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape) 04/02/2016 / 3:32 am

    My friend is OBSESSED with all things zombies. I told her the movie was coming out soon, and she freaked outed because she wants to see it so bad, but really wants to read the book first so she can compare XD

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 04/02/2016 / 9:04 am

      It comes out soon and it’s quite a long book so tell her to hurry up! 😉 Zombies are awesome!

      Like

Leave a Reply

