The guardians of the Galaxy film review

UK release date: 31/7/14

Runtime: 122 minutes

Directed by: James Gunn

Starring: Chris Pratt, Zoe Saldana, Dave Bautista, Vin Diesel, Bradley Cooper, Lee Pace, Michael Rooker, Karen Gillan, Djimon Hounsou, John C. Reilly, Glenn Close, Benicio del Toro

Ahhh, this is one of those films where I love the idea and the characters more than I actually like the film.

Compared to the other marvel films, this one is pretty mediocre which is so disappointing because morally suspect character are my thing! I’d take a anti-hero, (even a villain), over a goodie two shoes any day.

Speaking of villains, I genuinely don’t know what this film’s antagonists motivations were. In fact, I didn’t understand the motivations of most of the characters in the film.

Maybe I missed it in the midst of memorizing all the different names. The races and histories were not conveyed well. I could not tell you what this film was about.

The film lacked tension and was very awkward when giving facts that were needed. They seemed to just spew them at us and then moved onto the next thing.

Where was the dramatic tension?! Literally none.

The pacing was weird, the dialogue was clunky and I feel like the film was competing to have as the most character with cliche back stories ever.

I’ll admit, I found it funny at times and it did pull a laugh or two from me, but it seemed rife with over acting, probably because they were aiming for some sort of zany adventure.

The only way this film will be worth watching is if the second film is any good, but we’ll have to wait until 2017 to find if it is. On its own, it’s a big fat no.

To sum up, What plot?!, Cliche character, Not much info given, A few laughs

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 3/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Thor: The dark world film review

The Avengers film review

32 thoughts on “The guardians of the Galaxy film review

  1. newguy87 02/02/2016 / 9:25 pm

    Nice Review, personally this is my favourite of all the Marvel films, but i am tired of the superhero films out there

    Liked by 2 people

    • Combustible reviews 02/02/2016 / 9:37 pm

      I’m not a huge super hero person either which is why this disappointed me.

      I feel like the plot wasn’t as strong or at least conveyed as well as some of the other marvel films.

      Liked by 1 person

      • newguy87 02/02/2016 / 9:40 pm

        I always compare this the original Star Wars, easy to watch, funny characters, and my loove for firefly/serenity really made me enjoy this one. the only marvel superhero ones i really like is Thor

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 02/02/2016 / 9:43 pm

        I’ve never watched Firefly though I have heard of it. I always meant to give it a try, but I’m terrible with watching TV shows.

        I like all the marvel films so far. If I had to choose a favourite superheroes film ehhhh…I don’t actually know.
        But my favourite superhero would be the Hulk!

        Liked by 1 person

      • newguy87 02/02/2016 / 9:48 pm

        it is a show i always suggest, while you can watch the film but might not understand certain moments might not make sense. my problem with superhero films is that we dont have any good villains

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 02/02/2016 / 9:53 pm

        I’d agree with that. The villains don’t have very solid reasons for being ‘evil’.

        I want villains that I almost feel sorry for or at least have really good reason for their actions even if I wouldn’t agree with it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • newguy87 02/02/2016 / 9:55 pm

        so Loki lol, DC have the villains down perfectly with Scarecrow, Joker, Bane until the end all being very effective

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Film Music Central 02/02/2016 / 9:26 pm

    I have to respectfully disagree, I rented this movie last year and I couldn’t stop laughing, I found the whole story funny. I have a fantasy now where I’d like to see Star-Lord and Iron Man get into an argument.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Combustible reviews 02/02/2016 / 9:35 pm

      I think Iron man would win, ha.

      I didn’t even know what the story was beside basic good vs bad. Maybe I missed something?

      Like

      • Film Music Central 02/02/2016 / 9:38 pm

        No you’re right, it’s good vs bad, but for me there was this sense of humor that just had me giggling. I liked the light-hearted feel of the story (some superhero movies can be way too dark) 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 02/02/2016 / 9:40 pm

        I did like the humour in it and I definitely agree that some super hero films are all angst ridden, (I’m looking at you Batman), but I would’ve like a more solid plot.

        Liked by 2 people

    • Prime Six 02/02/2016 / 10:07 pm

      I guarantee that’ll happen in infinity war! Ant-man vs rocket Racoon vs stark vs starlord quiping contest haha

      Liked by 2 people

      • Combustible reviews 02/02/2016 / 10:37 pm

        That would be GLORIOUS. If it doesn’t happen I shall be severely disappointed and it will be your fault. D:<

        Like

      • Prime Six 02/02/2016 / 11:12 pm

        this is the problem with hype and high expectations! everyone has to get mad when they don’t get what they want

        I know you’re joking tho haha 😉

        Like

  3. rakioddbooks 03/02/2016 / 12:07 am

    After watching this movie I was so over Iron Man and Captain America, even the Avengers! This is what I had been waiting for! I love anti-heroes, they’re so much fun. I can’t wait for the sequel. I hope we get to find out who his father is. And I hope it has a great OST like this one. To me the point of the movie was to show how flawed and broken the characters were. They were actually pretty awful people if you think about it, but in the end, when the time came, they redeemed themselves. Yup, pretty cliched, but what Super Hero movie isn’t? I think that’s why my favorite quote from any of the Marvel films is, ‘There’s no politics here it’s just good old fashioned revenge’: It’s like, finally! Something real! I didn’t really like that very convenient ending though. It would have been better if they had stayed outlaws even after saving the world. It’s too convenient that all their crimes just got erased.
    Anyway, I’m rambling now. Ok, bye!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 03/02/2016 / 12:11 am

      I love your long comment! It is glorious!

      I know what you mean about the redeeming. I feel as if they redeemed themselves a bit too quick. Except Rocket because he’s all kinds of awesome.

      Haha, I hope we find out who is father is too. Although, I think they made a mistake insinuating it at the start of the movie because I spent the rest of it wondering when we’re going to found out which we obviously won’t until the next film.

      They should’ve just hinted at it at the end.

      Liked by 1 person

      • rakioddbooks 03/02/2016 / 12:21 am

        Yeah!!! If they had only done it at the end it would have been rather epic, like a twist. Like OMG he’s actually part alien and his dad is alive?! wwuuttt??!!
        And omg Deadpool! Unrelated but too excited!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Brigid Gorry-Hines 03/02/2016 / 2:43 am

    I remember enjoying this movie when I saw it in the theater, and I watched part of it another time … but over all I didn’t find it super memorable. I love Chris Pratt and there were some funny parts. But I agree, I had difficulty keeping track of all the characters and I didn’t quite understand what the conflict was, who the antagonists were, etc. I’m not very well-versed in the Marvel universe, though, so that might’ve been part of the problem for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 03/02/2016 / 9:16 am

      Other than watching the films I don’t know much about the marvel universe, but that shouldn’t have been a problem if it had been more clear.

      I think you’re right, it was enjoyable enough, but not memorable.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Brigid Gorry-Hines 03/02/2016 / 9:30 pm

        True––even for people who don’t know much about the Marvel universe, they should’ve made it easier to follow.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 03/02/2016 / 10:05 pm

        Hopefully, the next one will be good because I like the idea just not the execution.

        I have to wonder why it won’t be out until 2017?!

        Like

  5. Rachel 03/02/2016 / 11:31 am

    You bring up a lot of great points! Though I did still enjoy the movie.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. garethrhodes 03/02/2016 / 2:52 pm

    I love Guardians of the Galaxy, not because of its plot or the way it aims to subvert its own dramatic scenes, using humour, but because there was a sense of freshness and fun to it, that has sometimes been lacking in the MCU. Don’t get me wrong, I have enjoyed them all, but there was nothing stale about this one. I’m a big fan of James Gunn and I’m looking forward to the next film.

    Liked by 1 person

      • garethrhodes 03/02/2016 / 7:34 pm

        I know that you didn’t fully take to Star Wars (1977) either, do you think this kind of space fantasy escapism is something of a blind spot, for you? That’s not meant to come across offhanded, by the way. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 03/02/2016 / 7:39 pm

        Don’t worry, I know you don’t mean offense. It’s actually the opposite. I really like these kind of films! I can’t explain it. 0.0

        Like

Leave a Reply

