Chappie film review

UK release date: 6/3/15

Runtime: 120 minutes

Directed by: Neill Blomkamp

Starring: Sharlto Copley, Dev Patel, Ninja, Yolandi Visser, Jose Pablo Cantillo, Sigourney Weaver, Hugh Jackman

The film is as unique as well…Chappie.

I’m not sure what I was expecting from this film, but it’s certainly not what I got… Which is a good thing!!

It was lacking in some things like tighter pacing, stronger motivations and a pretty cliche ‘bad guy’.

If there had been a stronger story to attach to what are brilliant ideas than this would’ve been a memorable film, but it falls short. I enjoyed it for its entertainment and its uniqueness, but, ultimately, I was left wanting more from it.

Chappie made up for some of it. He (it?) was as hilarious as it was heartbreaking. Seriously, I teared up on occasion. The voice acting for him (it?!) was spot on.

Despite it having a humorous edge, it explored some very deep subjects which were the moments that had me tearing up.

The other character, while brilliant, seemed to have no real motivation or conflict beyond the cliche ones which is disappointing.

The score used got annoying at times, too annoying and at time too dramatic. Although, I loved the song near the end ‘We own the sky’ and ‘Enter the Ninja’ was EPIC, haha.

Hugh Jackman and Sigourney Weaver gave great performances even if they haven’t much to do and are stuck in cliche roles.

The director mentions he’s like to make a sequel and, if it was done, I’d watch it. Chappie has potential.

To sum up, Chappie is awesome, pretty dull plot, cliche characters

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 4/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Real steel film review

6 thoughts on “Chappie film review

  1. MyBookJacket 02/02/2016 / 3:56 pm

    I loved this film. Ok. I loved chappie. And I ended up loving the film because of that but I did find the “villains” pathetic. And Jackman as a proper villain was laughable for some reason. Loved Chappie though. I want a Chappie.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. JO_Wass 02/02/2016 / 7:06 pm

    I thought District 9 was a brilliant film, but haven’t seen Chappie yet. Are they are they at all comparable?

    Like

Leave a Reply

