The BFG by Roald Dahl book review

6319

Every night, when the world is sleeping, big gruesome giants guzzle up whoppsy-whiffling human beans. And there’s only one giant who can stop them-the BFG.

He’s the kindest giant there is and, with his friend Sophie in his top pocket, he sets out to rid the world of the Bloodbottler, the Fleshlumpeater and all their rotsome friends forever…

As an adult, I’d love a longer, more complex plot, but this isn’t aimed at adults. It’s aimed at children and for them this is a fantastic novel. Either for ones who can read on their own, perhaps eight or older, or for parents to read to children. The plot is just right for them.

Even though it isn’t a complex, (for an adult), novel, I still enjoyed it and would love reading it to young family members too.

The style of writing is easy to read and is able to describe imaginative things in a way children would understand and enjoy.

I don’t think anyone could not love The BFG and his way of speaking. I can imagine lots of children having a giggle at it.

There are non graphic mentions of giants eating children, but I doubt most children will find this too frightening. I know for sure my own nine year old nephew would probably love it.

It’s a quick fun read, perfect for those children who are starting to read independently.

It’s also the perfect time to start reading it because The BFG film is coming out this year around July time!

To sum up, Fun, Easy, great characters, simple language

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Yes

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Stars: 4/6

RELATED REVIEWS – 

Through the looking-glass and what Alice found there book review

Howl’s moving castle book review

The wee free men book review

7 thoughts on “The BFG by Roald Dahl book review

  1. MyBookJacket 31/01/2016 / 11:45 am

    I think I discovered Ronald Dahl with Matilda. I loved Matilda. I have a couple of his books somewhere on my shelves. Your review has made me want to be a kid again. lol.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Combustible reviews 31/01/2016 / 11:57 am

      I love Matilda. I grew up on Roald Dahl and Charles Dickens. I still read younger books. Age is just a number!!

      Liked by 2 people

      • MyBookJacket 31/01/2016 / 3:26 pm

        Agree. Age is just a number. That’s why i still watch the flintstones. 😛

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Kirstie Ellen 31/01/2016 / 1:35 pm

    The BFG was my favourite book as a child!! I’m badly overdue a reread, and I’m SO excited for the movie! *flailing*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. evelynfilmfan 31/01/2016 / 9:19 pm

    I loved the book and the animated film! I also can’t wait to see the upcoming live action version 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 31/01/2016 / 9:32 pm

      Yes, I have high hopes for them film. The book was excellent. A little too young, (even for me), but I still enjoyed it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

