Cinderella film review

UK release date: 27/3/15

Runtime: 105 minutes

Directed by: Kenneth Branagh

Starring: Cate Blanchett, Lily James, Richard Madden, Stellan Skarsgård, Holliday Grainger, Derek Jacobi, Helena Bonham Carter

Note: This is available on Now TV at the time of this review

(This is a review of the 2015 live action version.)

OK! First thing’s first. One thing that’s always bothered me about Cinderella was that glass shoe.

How improbable is it that nobody in the ENTIRE kingdom has the same shoe size as Cinderella?! (And that he wouldn’t recognize her, but we’ll ignore that!)

But fear not, dear readers! I have FIGURED IT OUT! Are you ready?

MAGIC! Yes, that’s right, magic. The magic glass shoe belongs to Cinderella. So! Even if a girl had the same shoe size as her, it still wouldn’t fit because of the magic. HA, all is right for the world. (Can’t believe it took this long for this to occur to me.)

Anyway, to my actual thoughts to the film.

WHY DID IT TAKE ME SO LONG TO WATCH THIS?! WHY?!

I have a horrible, horrible thing to admit… I liked this better than the original, animated Cinderella. I mean, the one thing I missed from the original is the songs, but I’m not sure if they would’ve suited this version of the film. Maybe, I don’t know. \o/

I loved the original as a child, but the live action felt more realistic and I adored this Cinderella more. I felt she was a stronger person.

Lily James is an AMAZING Cinderella. She was realistic and my heart ached for her all the time. I was in tears at times.

Something I also love is that they didn’t make the step-mother and sisters ugly. I also liked that the step-mother had reasons for being the way she was, (still not OK though -_-). She was a fully formed character, not just evil for the sake of it.

From the beginning, I knew I was going to love this. It starts perfectly. The introduction seamless and not taking up took long to get to the meat of the story. It continued on this way. There is nothing I don’t like about this film.

I watched Maleficent previously to this and the tightness and smoothness of this film is what I wanted from Maleficent to be.

Disney are doing a brilliant job with the retelling of these stories and I love them as live actions too.

To sum up, Really well told, Amazing actresses, More realistic, Stronger Cinderella

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 6/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Maleficent film review

 

19 thoughts on “Cinderella film review

  1. newguy87 30/01/2016 / 11:12 pm

    Nice review I loved the line I can’t drive I’m a goose spent about 5 minutes laughing at that

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 30/01/2016 / 11:23 pm

      There’s so many great lines in it. I can see they were carefully chosen. I liked how the weaved the magic in.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Emma The Book Lover 31/01/2016 / 2:24 am

    AH YES I loved this one as well!!! I’m glad to read that you enjoyed it too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rachel 31/01/2016 / 12:20 pm

    I loved this movie! I thought it was so well done. And the sequence when she transforms into her dress was gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 31/01/2016 / 12:22 pm

      I loved that sequence too and the fact that she wanted to keep the same dress because of her mother.

      Like

      • Rachel 31/01/2016 / 12:23 pm

        Yes, they tied everything together quite nicely.

        Like

  4. Kirstie Ellen 31/01/2016 / 1:47 pm

    Great review 🙂 the whole glass slipper thing bother me too and now I feel silly for not putting together that it’s magic *epic facepalm*. I was watching this literally just yesterday and I was thinking about why the stepsisters aren’t ugly but she does make a comment in the commentary about them being as ugly on the inside as they are fair on the outside, or something, and I thought touché.

    Lily James is just the best – can’t wait to watch her in Pride & Prejudice & Zombies and War & Peace!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 31/01/2016 / 2:10 pm

      I know, once I realized Lily James was playing Elizabeth my excitement went up tenfold!

      Don’t feel too bad. It took me this long and, you never, we could be wrong.

      I like that they’re not ugly on the outside. I never liked that stereotype. It makes them a little more real.

      Like

  5. evelynfilmfan 31/01/2016 / 9:28 pm

    Finally someone who completely agrees with me! I truly love this version and I was also in tears a few times. It was so magical and the music. Lily James as Cinderella was amazing, very strong and a more elaborated character than the animated version. Also Richard madden as the prince, very dreamy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 31/01/2016 / 9:31 pm

      I know! I forget to mention him. *Slapswrist* Bad me!

      I felt the romance was better too, them meeting in the forest and it not just being about her being pretty.

      Like

      • evelynfilmfan 31/01/2016 / 9:35 pm

        Exactly!! Also those two in real life are cute

        Liked by 1 person

      • evelynfilmfan 31/01/2016 / 9:38 pm

        I have no idea really. But when I saw lily and Richard during the promos together, they really looked cute together 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 31/01/2016 / 9:41 pm

        I only noticed because I was looking her up as I wasn’t familiar with her.

        They do. They’re brilliant together! He has a great smile.

        I can’t wait to see Lily James in Pride and prejudice and zombies.

        Like

  6. criticalmoviecritics 01/02/2016 / 4:20 am

    It’s been awhile since I’ve seen it but my gripe with the slippers is why didn’t they return to normal at the stroke of midnight like all the other magical transforms?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 01/02/2016 / 8:41 am

      I thought of that. The fairy godmother did say everything would turn back to the way it was, but slippers were made entirely new unlike everything else. So, I’m thinking maybe that’s it? They were made purely of magic?

      Like

Leave a Reply

