Maleficent film review

UK release date: 28/5/14

Runtime: 97 minutes

Directed by: Robert Stromberg

Starring: Angelina Jolie, Sharlto Copley, Elle Fanning, Sam Riley, Imelda Staunton, Juno Temple, Lesley Manville

Note: This film is available on Now TV at the time of this review.

This is actually one of the first of the new Disney live actions I’ve seen and a great one to start with.

The beginning felt a little awkward as if they were unsure how to exactly introduce the idea, but after the first fifteen minutes, I enjoyed it.

It could have been more streamlined and smooth with asome more impactful moments. Some characters which were introduced were not used to their full advantage, some were never seen again until late into the film.

I adored the moments concerning Aurora and Maleficent and are worth it just for them. I would have liked Aurora’s character have had a bigger role even if this is a film primarily about Maleficent.

But, wow, Maleficent is such an appealing character and I loved her to bits. I dislike evil for the sake of evil so this was a fantastic story.

Angelina is stunning in her role and I loved every moment. I was unsure of her at first, but within half an hour I was sold. She had me giggling at times.

I loved the ending even though I called it because I so wanted it to go down that way. It isn’t a well made, cohesive film, but I enjoyed it all the same, mostly for the re-imagining of the villain Maleficent.

To sum up, A bit jumbled, Angelina Jolie amazing, Slow moving

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 4/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Pan film review

Cinderella film review

25 thoughts on “Maleficent film review

  1. Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny 29/01/2016 / 8:56 pm

    I personally thought Anglenia Jolie’s acting was the only good part about this movie. :p It just wasn’t my cup of tea, I guess. I’m glad you enjoyed it, Jen! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Combustible reviews 29/01/2016 / 10:06 pm

      It isn’t well made, but, I don’t know, just one those movies I enjoyed regardless. Probably because I love villains and was in the right mood. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. MyBookJacket 30/01/2016 / 2:34 am

    Jolie is great in this film. I mean everything else seems very forced. Especially the fairies(you’d think the king would think twice about trusting his precious only child with three bumbling idiots). But Jolie was great. And her crow dog man.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 30/01/2016 / 10:08 am

      I know. I don’t understand why the child gets sent away. The damage’s already been done.

      Like

    • Combustible reviews 30/01/2016 / 10:09 am

      I’m really looking forward to seeing the rest.

      The have lots of Disney live actions coming out this year too. Tarzan, Beauty and the beast, The jungle book!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Emma The Book Lover 30/01/2016 / 9:45 pm

        Yes, I am sooo excited! Especially for The Beauty and the Beast because it’s also one of my favourites and Emma Watson!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 30/01/2016 / 10:15 pm

        Beauty and the beast was one of my favourites too. I wore out the VHS from playing so much when I was little.

        (Did you, like me, prefer the beast as the beast? When he turns back into the prince, I’m always like TURN BACK!)

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Rachel 30/01/2016 / 12:24 pm

    I forgot about this movie. I’ve always wanted to watch it and never did.
    …I feel like I say this on most of your movie reviews. Can you tell I’m no movie buff? πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 30/01/2016 / 4:04 pm

      This is one of the reasons I set up this blog because I never got round to watching/reading films/books.

      Now I’m sort of committed to watching them so I’ve caught with loads of book and films in the last few months. πŸ˜€

      Like

      • Rachel 30/01/2016 / 4:17 pm

        That’s exactly why I started reviewing books on my blog, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 30/01/2016 / 4:26 pm

        *High five* I’m considering a writing blog too, but need to get myself a little organized before starting that up.

        Like

      • Rachel 30/01/2016 / 8:37 pm

        I’d follow you! Having a blog about writing is a lot of fun. Which I’m sure you know, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 30/01/2016 / 10:14 pm

        Thank you! I won’t be starting one yet, but this hopefully this year. At least I’m already surrounded by lots of great writers!

        Like

      • Rachel 30/01/2016 / 11:17 pm

        That’s true. The community is great!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. mlrover 30/01/2016 / 2:15 pm

    I agree with the alternate version of Mal’s character. The only thing I thoroughly disliked was the vocalist for the ending credits, a hideous version of a lovely, iconic meolody. It utterly ruined the satisfying ending of Mal floating in the clouds. Couldn’t get out of the theater fast enough to get away from that ugly voice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 30/01/2016 / 4:05 pm

      I know which song you mean, but I wasn’t listening properly. I’ll have to youtube it to compare them both! I don’t see why the couldn’t have used the same music. 😦

      Like

  5. filmmusiccentral 30/01/2016 / 2:57 pm

    As a fan of the original Sleeping Beauty, I was initially resistant to the idea of a Disney live-action remake…until I saw the film and fell in love with it. Angelina Jolie is so perfect in this film, it’s kind of scary. I’m so excited that they’re planning a sequel to this movie (as long as Jolie is in it).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

