Real steel film review

UK release date: 14/10/11

Runtime: 127 minutes

Directed by: Shawn Levy

Starring: Hugh Jackman, Dakota Goyo, Evangeline Lilly, Anthony Mackie, Kevin Durand

I remember hearing about Real steel when it first came out, but, despite having Hugh Jackman in it, I never heard about it after that. Any hype it had died off pretty quickly.

So, of course, I was expecting an b-movie, an entertaining one, but a b-movie all the same. That is not what I got.

What I got was over two hours of me glued to the screen, a couple of chuckles and, if I’m honest, some tears. The feels, people. You don’t even know.

The story told is not a new one by any means and not one scene will be surprising, but it still pulls of a brilliant movie by being tight and having fantastic actors.

It was weird seeing Hugh Jackman without a cigar in his mouth and metal blades shooting out from between his knuckles, but he proves he could be something other than Wolverine.

He plays a douchebag, (Ok, not much different from Wolverine), but not once does he slip from this role. Not even to gain sympathy from the viewer. His character evolves over time, but he’s still douchebag, just a nicer one.

Of course, it wouldn’t been much if the actor playing his son was sucky. Thank goodness he’s not. Dakota Goyo, I didn’t even know who he is, is brilliant as Max.

The robots were amazing too. I felt so sorry for them all. It felt as if they all had emotions. I’m not a fan of boxing, I always feel upset for the fighters getting hurt and this film made me feel this for a emotionless beings.

It isn’t an amazing film that will affect and that you will remember for weeks on end, but it’s thoroughly enjoyable all the way through.

To sum up, well paced, nothing surprising, brilliant acting

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 5/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Transformers: Dark of the moon film review

X-men: First class film review

Iron man 3 film review

7 thoughts on “Real steel film review

  1. sublimereads 29/01/2016 / 12:55 am

    I LOVED IT TOO! I mean, it was never gonna get an Oscar, but the acting and script were both pretty well done! I loved the relationships XD Glad you got around to watching it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 29/01/2016 / 9:58 am

      This is exactly how I felt about it too. Sometimes you just want to relax into a fun film!

      Like

  2. MyBookJacket 29/01/2016 / 9:44 am

    I haven’t watched this. Hadn’t even heard of it. “He plays a douchebag” hahaha. That role fits him perfectly.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rakioddbooks 29/01/2016 / 11:40 am

    Yes! I also didn’t really expect much, but was pleasantly surprised! Loved the story, the acting, the robots, everything. It was entertaining and best of all, no cringe worthy moments. I was expecting a few, but there weren’t any! Yay!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

