Through the looking-glass and what Alice found there by Lewis Carroll book review

83346

“Let’s pretend the glass has got all soft like gauze, so that we can get through…”

Alice’s second adventure takes her through the looking-glass to a place even curiouser than Wonderland. She finds herself caught up in a chess game and sets off to become a Queen.

On the way Alice meets a host of nonsense characters, including Tweedledee and Tweedledum, and Humpty dumpty.

As the blurb says this is Alice’s second adventure. I read the first a long while ago and remember enjoying it.

However, this second book seems to have no connection the previous one. At first, I though perhaps Alice has amnesia, but it seems I gave the book too much credit.

The writing is delightful and playful and enjoyable with lots of plays on words and interesting characters. Except for one major issue.

There is literally no plot. AT ALL. It is literally a whole load of nonsense that happens without much reason, like a child’s imaginative play which is what this reads as.

I’ve found the ending highly frustrating as well. I can’t imagine anyone liking an ending like that and my feelings after finishing the book was annoyance.

This book, and the previous one, are the rare times where I like the films that have come from it more. They’ve expanded on the ideas from it and gave it a true story.

This is the kind of book a parent, (or cool, awesome Aunt), would read to a child at bedtime. If it’d had a proper plot and a better ending then I would’ve highly enjoyed it whether it was aimed at children or not.

To sum up, No plot, fun writing, Fun characters, Bad ending

Was it worth the read? No

Would I re-read? No

Stars: 3/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Howl’s moving castle book review

The wee free men book review

23 thoughts on “Through the looking-glass and what Alice found there by Lewis Carroll book review

  1. emmakwall 27/01/2016 / 3:42 pm

    Are you a cool, awesome aunt? 🙂

    I’m not sure if I’d like this, I like more stability in my plots!! But I’m sure it’s very lovely 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 27/01/2016 / 3:46 pm

      There would have to be a plot to have stability in the first place!

      And, yes, I may be such an Aunt. 😉 Although one nephew prefers games to books so I make him read the subtitles on them to me. Haha, the looks he gives me.

      Like

  2. MyBookJacket 28/01/2016 / 6:54 am

    I haven’t read this. But this is sad. I expected this to have a brilliant rave review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 28/01/2016 / 12:31 pm

      I think people like the characters and the world more than the actual story

      . I mean, a lot of people grew up on the movies and such. I only read the books recently.

      Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 28/01/2016 / 1:23 pm

        Ah! Well that makes sense. I’ve never actually watched the movies. Except the Tim Burton one.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 28/01/2016 / 1:29 pm

        Even so, I bet you knew the gist about Alice and wonderland? Like everyone knows who Peter Pan is and I’ve never read that book either.

        Or I could be completely wrong. Haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 28/01/2016 / 1:46 pm

        I’ve read Alice In Wonderland. And Peterpan. Loved both. But I didn’t even know there was this other book!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 28/01/2016 / 2:22 pm

        The second isn’t very well know, but they took a lot of elements and used them in the movies.

        It’s a quick read so I recommend reading just to see for yourself.

        Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 28/01/2016 / 2:24 pm

        I’m planning on joining a library soon. I’ll grab it then.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 28/01/2016 / 2:26 pm

        That’s awesome. I love my library, but it never has the books I want in stock. I’d have to order them in from another library. Rage inducing!

        Like

      • MyBookJacket 28/01/2016 / 2:46 pm

        Hope it’s better than my local one. We only seem to have sidney sheldon, patterson, archer and the likes here. And classics. I’ve heard they’re getting some new books. I’ll join after that. How far is the other library?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 28/01/2016 / 2:47 pm

        We haven’t got another one. You’re only allowed to join if you’re a resident of the area so I wouldn’t be able to take books home from other ones.

        Like

      • MyBookJacket 28/01/2016 / 2:49 pm

        What! That sucks. Here you put a downpayment and then just take the number of books allowed.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 28/01/2016 / 2:51 pm

        Really? We don’t have to pay to use the library. It’s free. Unless we keep the book over the allotted time.

        Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 28/01/2016 / 2:55 pm

        Ah. It’s different here. On the upside we can be a member of as many libraries as we want. On the downside they all stock th same kinda books.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. mudandstars 01/02/2016 / 10:14 pm

    Enjoyed your review! I don’t think I’ve ever read this book! I’m pretty sure I read the first one as a child, but it’s one of those books that’s quoted so much you feel like you’ve read it even if you haven’t haha. I’m quite intrigued that this book is just a whole load of nonsense – I kind of remember the first one being like that too – in a weird way, that’s sort of appealing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 01/02/2016 / 10:28 pm

      Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      A lot of the stuff from this one, you’ll recognize from the films, if you’ve seen them. I felt like I’d already read it because of that!

      Liked by 1 person

      • mudandstars 03/02/2016 / 9:32 pm

        I saw the Disney film a long time ago, and the Tim Burton one more recently. I will definitely read both of the books properly at some point, although like you I’m sure I will get frustrated with lack of plot in the second one!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 03/02/2016 / 10:04 pm

        I read the second as the Tim Burton film is coming out this year, so I thought why not?. Did you enjoy the films?

        Liked by 1 person

      • mudandstars 03/02/2016 / 10:17 pm

        I can’t really remember the Disney one all that well, but I loved the Tim Burton one! His films are stunning. I’d forgotten about the second one coming out this year, I may well read this book in preparation 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

