47 Ronin film review

UK release date: 26/12/13

Runtime: 118 minutes

Directed by: Carl Rinsch

Starring: Keanu Reeves, Hiroyuki Sanada, Tadanobu Asano,Rinko Kikuchi, Ko Shibasaki, Min Tanaka, Jin Akanishi

Note: This is available on Netflix at the time of this review.

I like the concept, but the execution wasn’t good. I liked the film enough that I was disappointed by the mediocreness of it. (Totally a word. Yes it is. Shh!)

It’s a really pretty film and I loved the Japanese mythology elements, but they really weren’t used to their full potential and neither were the characters, particularly the villains.

I felt the way the villains was very cliche and their reasons are never fully explained. A real shame. Some of the ideas weren’t explained clear enough which left me feeling annoyed.

It well made, but really slow. Seriously Keanu Reeves just strolls around the screen and talks in a really slow voice. The character he was portraying was quite dull and even the interesting stuff was apparently not a big deal which sucked!

I was also disappointed Mika, (Ko Shibasaki), I would have liked to have seen her have a bigger part.

The last half an hour is where it’s at. It’s brilliantly paced and a satisfying ending, (because it couldn’t have ended any other way.)

It’s one of the better films on Netfilx and good enough to watch, but I wouldn’t buy the DVD.

To sum up, Fun use of mythology, very pretty, well made, Dull

Dad’s opinion: It was alright.

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 3/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

The last Witch hunter film review

7 thoughts on “47 Ronin film review

  1. Prime Six 27/01/2016 / 1:43 am

    Love your review structure/format/layout/whatever and of course the review itself!
    Do you think it’s worth watching JUST the last 30mins of the film?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Combustible reviews 27/01/2016 / 10:16 am

      Thank you! I like to keep it short and (not so) sweet.

      When I read other people’s reviews, I want to know what they thought of it and if they thought it was good or not so that’s the kind of review I aim to write. I also find big blocks of text unreadable which is why mine are so broken up.

      No, I wouldn’t say it’s worth the watch. There’s much better, similar films out there.

      Only if you’re looking to put something on in the background while you’re doing something else maybe.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. MyBookJacket 28/01/2016 / 6:55 am

    Oh I remember this film. One of my friends made me watch it. I fell asleep a few minutes in. I wouldn’t hear the end of it! Glad I’m not the only one.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 28/01/2016 / 1:31 pm

        I’ve gained a lot of habits from my Dad. Now it drives me insane and I’m now the annoying person who tells people to turns off lights and shut doors because the draft. Haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 28/01/2016 / 1:47 pm

        You sound like my older sister. She does the same thing. I’m usually the one telling people to shut off the water. But it’s a good habit to have.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

