Dirty Grandpa film review

UK release date: 25/1/16

Runtime: 102 minutes

Directed by: Dan Mazer

Starring: Robert De Niro, Zac Efron, Aubrey Plaza, Zoey Deutch, Julianne Hough, Dermot Mulroney

This is the kind of film my brother would love. A really lewd comedy. It’s full of sexual jokes and scenes.

Unfortunately, it isn’t my kind of film. I prefer more action comedy than just pure comedy. And lewd humour isn’t my thing either. I spent most of the time cringing from embarrassment.

There was one particular joke that I thought went to far, but the other seems to be fairly standard of the genre. And, of course, overdone.

The plot is cliche, but made from a different angle. I mean, the title says it all, doesn’t it? Yet I felt they just threw those plot points in for the sake of having a backdrop to throw in jokes. It’s well made but without the funny, it wasn’t very enjoyable for me.

Zac Efron and Robert DeNiro are great together. Although, I enjoyed Zac Efron’s character more and his wit in it was the most likely to make me smile. But they didn’t have much to work with in this film. It’s pretty forgettable.

To sum up, Dirty humour, Well made, Not funny

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 2/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Sisters film review

Daddy’s home film review

Have you seen it? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

