Weekly update

First off, I want to mention this book, A monster calls by Patrick Ness.

I’d already added this to my to read list, but Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny demanded I read it immediately and I’m so glad she did! I highly recommend you read it. You can see my review of it here.

I also watched The big short and The fifth wave this week. (I read this one too). All of which you can find reviews of on my blog. Aren’t you a lucky, Cupcake?!

I’m also taking part in the Opinion battles you can find out more about it here. Tomorrow will be my first entry into the battles.

I have to select which film I consider to be the best picture winner. I was torn between two. One was Forrest Gump, but to find out my other choice you’ll have to check out moviereview101.com tomorrow or just follow Darren’s awesome blog!

Also, tomorrow happens, happens to be my birthday. Just sayin’. Not trying to coerce you into voting for my choice AT ALL.

Edit: For anyone who’s curious, I’m going to be 24. I look about sixteen as I’m one those people who has a baby face. I love when I’m ID’d and take great delight in informing them how old I actually am. Not that I get ID’d often because I don’t buy things that have an age restriction.

I’ll be reviewing Dirty Grandpa tomorrow. I’ve heard it’s pretty funny so I’m looking forward to it!

Other films I’ll be reviewing this week are Ride along 2, but first I need to watch Ride along! And some other films.

I want to watch Captain America: Winter soldier, Avengers: Age of Ultron and The Amazing Spiderman 2 because apparently the unofficial superhero thing we have going on is still going strong.

Some books I’m hoping to read in the next week or so is…

Pride and Prejudice and zombies by Seth Smith Grahame . The film’s being release early February so I want to have finished before then. I saw a trailer in the film and it looked pretty badass.

Another I’m looking forward to reading is The girl on the train by Paula Hawkins. I know for a fact my Dad’s bought me this for my birthday, because he’s awful at keeping secrets. It’s a running joke nowadays. I think I’d have been disappointed if he hadn’t dropped himself in it.

I’m also looking forward to All the birds in the sky by Jane Charlie Anders. A post apocalyptic novel that’ll be released on the 26th January. \o/

Also, mybookjacket @ books and strips and I have are planning to do a kind of book club together. We both have, and want to read, Battle royale by Koushun Takami.

We haven’t settled on when, but we’re thinking of reading a chapter a week and then starting a discussion on twitter or something.

If you’re interested you can leave a comment, send a pm on twitter or email for more details. (Not that there are many at the moment.)

Twitter / Goodreads

What books and/or films have you been reading and/or watching? Did you like them? Hate them?

30 thoughts on “Weekly update

    • Combustible reviews 24/01/2016 / 11:47 pm

      Thank you very muchly, good sir. I’m more curious as to everyone else’s choices.

      Particularly that one person who called mine…interesting.

      Liked by 1 person

      • newguy87 24/01/2016 / 11:48 pm

        i called it interesting, but you will know my feelings on that film in time lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 25/01/2016 / 12:00 am

        No, you called it …interesting. The dots are important. -_-

        Haha, now I’m insanely curious. I would have chosen one the first two, but they didn’t win best picture.

        Liked by 1 person

      • newguy87 25/01/2016 / 12:01 am

        i am not the biggest fan of the films after the first 2, Fellowship is my favourite

        Like

      • Combustible reviews 25/01/2016 / 12:07 am

        My favourite scene is in the 2nd with Smeagol moaning at Samwise about cooking the fish. “He’s ruins it, filthy hobbit. We like it raw and wiggling ect.”

        And I pretty much love any scene with Gimli and Legolas together. Hilarious.

        Liked by 1 person

      • newguy87 25/01/2016 / 12:08 am

        That is why i liked the 2nd over the third the battle scene kill count is hilarious and we don’t have that in the third one.

        Liked by 1 person

      • newguy87 25/01/2016 / 12:13 am

        it is now technically your birthday so crack open the drinks lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 25/01/2016 / 12:16 am

        Totally, I’ll put ribena in a wine glass and pretend it’s red wine! (May or may not have done this on my 18th.) So, cheers! *Clink*

        Liked by 1 person

      • newguy87 25/01/2016 / 12:18 am

        i only have water, so i will pretend it is vodka as i have quit drinking this year for now

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 25/01/2016 / 12:22 am

        Drinking has never attracted me. I don’t like the taste. Besides, soft drinks a cheaper. \o/

        Liked by 1 person

      • newguy87 25/01/2016 / 12:24 am

        i have spells of enjoying my fruit ciders and nothing, if you are in England which county are you from?

        Like

      • newguy87 25/01/2016 / 12:28 am

        is that ironic? i am from one of the top seaside resorts

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 25/01/2016 / 12:30 am

        Very ironic for me. Even more ironic that my family were in the publican trade for a long while. And here’s me not a fan of pubs at all.

        Oooh, seaside resort that’s fun. I’ve only been to yarmouth and skegness.

        Liked by 1 person

      • newguy87 25/01/2016 / 12:36 am

        i don’t like the idea of sunbathing, find slightly boring

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 25/01/2016 / 12:39 am

        It is boring, just sitting there and cooking. I’m amazed by the people who can cope in the heat like that. And I burn in a second. I rock the pale look. B)

        Liked by 1 person

      • newguy87 25/01/2016 / 12:41 am

        i tend to burn easy too, i like the shade or insdoors

        Liked by 1 person

  1. MyBookJacket 25/01/2016 / 2:26 am

    Happy birthday in advance! You dad sounds so adorable! And just FYI it is very difficult to keep secret the gifts you buy for someone. Very difficult. I’ve never managed to keep any gift a surprise thus far.
    I’m so excited about the book club/buddy read! I just finished a really horrible book so this will be a relief.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 25/01/2016 / 9:30 am

      I get really excited about giving gifts so I have to buy it last minute so I don’t give it to them too early!

      Yes, buddy read will be awesome! \o/

      Liked by 1 person

  2. remarkablylisa 25/01/2016 / 5:55 pm

    I’m super pumped that you got the girl on the train for your birthday because it was such a captivating read! It wasn’t as good as everyone hyped it up to be but it was a solid novel that left me in her world for soooooooooooooooo long. Have fun with all the books!!! And I just followed your page and would love it if you checked out mine!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 25/01/2016 / 6:04 pm

      Oooooh, I’m so glad it’s a good read. I discovered after finding out it was being released as a film.

      The synopsis has really peaked my interest. I’m reading Pride and prejudice and zombies first so I have to hold off a little longer. D’:

      Like

Leave a Reply

