A monster calls by Patrick Ness book review

8621462

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.

I don’t care what genre you normally read, everyone needs to read this book. In fact, get off your phone or computer or whatever and fetch this book. NOW.

Ahem, now that I’ve got that out of the way…

I want to point out that this book is not a horror. It uses horror elements to tell a specific story. So for anyone put off because they believe it to be horror, set your fears aside.

This is an incredibly quick read. I finished it within two hours. Partly because it’s a short book and mainly because when you start read it’s as if you’ll die if you take your away from the words. As if your hands are stuck to the book.

And what a pretty book it is. I really recommend you buy a physical copy of this book. An e-book won’t do it justice. It has beautiful glossy pages and on those pages are some gorgeous illustrations.

This book is a work of art. All books are, but this definitely is. You know what I mean. Like when some films need to watched in the cinema? This needs to be a physical copy in your hands. You’ll thank me later.

From the first page, I knew this book was going to be something special and boy was it. It has been awhile since a book affected me so. I spent the rest of the day in a haze.

I have nothing in common with any bit of the story. Yet I felt as if I was the main character. I felt as if it was happening to me. I felt every single emotion.

Just wow… I cannot believe I only discovered this book after learning of the upcoming movie. Was I living under a rock or something?

This is one of those books that shifts your view, that makes you see the world a little differently, that changes something in you.

Not reading this book will be the worst decision you make this year!

To sum up, Brilliant, Short and to the point, Beautiful illustrations

Was it worth the read? Abso-friggin-lutley!!

Would I re-read? Yes indeedy!

Would I read this Author again? YES

Stars: 6/6

15 thoughts on “A monster calls by Patrick Ness book review

  1. Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny 24/01/2016 / 12:59 am

    Yay! You finally read it, Jen! I’m so glad you loved it as much as I did! ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

      • Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny 24/01/2016 / 11:12 pm

        I was sobbing for nearly an hour, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 24/01/2016 / 11:15 pm

        I cried at random times all day. I’m going to watch my Dad like a hawk and will be severely disappointed if he doesn’t shed a tear.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny 24/01/2016 / 11:22 pm

        If you don’t cry while reading that book, you’re not human :p

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

