The big short film review

HO00003271.jpgUK release date: 22/1/16

Runtime: 130 minutes

Directed by: Adam McKay

Starring: Christian Bale. Steve Carell, Ryan Gosling, Brad Pitt

Did you know a 1% rise in unemployment kills 40,000 people? I didn’t, but I do now.

The film’s about the financial crisis of 2007 and I’m sure most people will remember it.

This film is told in a movie like documentary way with Ryan Gosling as out narrator. Basically, Bankers are douches.

It quite often breaks the fourth wall. I’ll admit when the started, I was unsure whether I was going to like the way it went about telling the story.

Now, I think it suited the tone of the film well. The only thing I didn’t like when we had well know people break the fourth wall to inform us about certain technical terms, interview style. I felt like they were saying, you’re really stupid so let me explain this to you.

Despite, it’s, at time humorous approach to the story, it touches on some serious subjects. It’s amazing how unmoral and greedy people can be. I knew about the financial crisis, but to view it as a film shocked me to a new level.

Steve Carell is by far my favourite in this film, not his character, him. I thought his portrayal was so brilliant and he was fully committed to it.

Brad Pitt, despite barely being in the film, was my second, because his character brought it all down to earth and, near the end, said the most memorable thing of the entire film. You’ll know it when you hear it.

The movie gets less light hearted by the end as it finally comes to its climax. The film is worth seeing, just to get a bigger view of what actually happened and you’ll be shocked to the core. The last half an hour is by far the best part of the film.

To sum up, Great acting, Fascinating plot, thought provoking

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 4/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Joy film review

He named me Malala film review

Suffragette film review

Twitter / Goodreads

18 thoughts on “The big short film review

  1. bookboxbykat 27/01/2016 / 8:03 pm

    I love that you talk about movies other than books. I will be getting ideas for my next movie from you 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 27/01/2016 / 8:18 pm

      I like both media’s so it made sense to have a blog on both. Thank you, I hope I steer you right.

      Seen any good films yourself recently?

      Liked by 1 person

      • bookboxbykat 27/01/2016 / 8:48 pm

        Only some Christmas ones and trying to catch up with my reading. But I’ll be posting my Friday Night Movie, (haven’t decided wich one yet so I am open to suggestions). Feel free to chect it out 🙂 I’ll get back to you one this one 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • bookboxbykat 27/01/2016 / 9:37 pm

        I m currently reading Agatha Christie’s “And then there were none”. I can read anything, but mostly contemporary, drama, romance and mysteries 🙂 what’s yours?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 27/01/2016 / 9:45 pm

        I loved the Agatha Chrstie TV series and I’ve read one or two books.

        I prefer fantasy, sci fi, horror, dystopian ect. But I’d willingly try anything if it was good.

        The only genre that isn’t to my taste is romance.

        Liked by 1 person

      • bookboxbykat 27/01/2016 / 9:50 pm

        There is a tv serie? I will check it out! Nice to know your preferences. I’ll try posting something that will interest you too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 27/01/2016 / 9:59 pm

        Yes, lots of Miss Marples and the poriot tv series starring David Suchet is brilliant.

        I’m sure I’ll enjoy any book you review. I like to learn about new books and people’s thought on them

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Jolien @ The Fictional Reader 27/02/2016 / 6:15 pm

    I watched this movie 2 days ago (I think) and I really loved it. I guess “loved it” is maybe not the best way to describe it? I mean, it disgusted me. But then the reality of the situation was disgusting, you know? I have a movie review for this one coming up tomorrow! I really did like this, and I didn’t mind when they explained the jargon to me. It’s definitely worth a watch. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 27/02/2016 / 6:33 pm

      Thanks, I’ll be sure to check out your review. I liked the jargon explaining for the most part, just not the celebrity bits.

      Like

Leave a Reply

