The fifth wave film review

UK release date: 22/1/16

Runtime: 112 minutes

Directed by: J Blakeson

Starring: Chloë Grace Moretz, Nick Robinson, Ron Livingston, Maggie Siff, Alex Roe, Maria Bello, Maika Monroe, Liev Schreiber

First off, I want to inform you all that I have read the book and obviously my viewing experience is going to be affected by that.

I’m going to try and look at it as someone who hasn’t read the book…but first you’re getting a rant about it from someone who has read the book. You’re welcome.

419202a24f200f15fb0dc08c73c53c41
Image does not belong to me!

This is pretty apt description of this particular book/film combo. (Not all because I do believe you can make films worthy of books and even some can be better.)

I didn’t realize how much I enjoyed the book until I saw the film. They managed to take a solid, complex plot with lots of mysterious tension and fantastic characters with great personalities and make a flimsy, un-complex plot with no mysterious tension and pretty boring characters.

I feel as if they took the basic plot and most important scenes and rushed through them, even completely changing things or not even including things. It felt like they took the easiest way to make this film and did that.

The scenes from the book which I remember most strongly and I felt were important to revealing things about our main characters were pretty much absent. Film makers should have had faith in those movie goers who haven’t read the book to have gotten it, and loved it, because I feel it’s been dumbed down.

Also, where the heck were Evan’s brown eyes?!! I know not a major thing in the long run, but Cassie made a point of mentioning chocolate eyes. Put some coloured contacts in man!!

Another thing missing was the tension. The book excelled at this managing to make me believe things even after certain events, but things were pretty obvious in the film.

To be fair, it’s a better book to film adaptation than most and is entertaining enough. I mean, my Dad stayed awake through the whole thing so it had to be good.

Evan walker, one of my favourite character’s in the book, is also my favourite character on screen. I think Alex Roe was the one who portrayed the book character the closest.

Chloë Grace Moretz the second closest, although still not quite Cassie to me. She still did a brilliant job. Liev Schreiber is pretty decent Vosch too.

And while the other characters acted well, they were not given nearly enough screen time for the character’s I know and love to shine through.

To people who haven’t read the book, it’ll most likely be an enjoyable sci fi watch. It isn’t anything special.

To those that have, it may make you grind your teeth a little, but it follows the book better than The scorch trails film did.

To sum up, Not book compliant, but not too bad on that front, good acting, no chocolate eyes 😥

Dad’s opinion: Not having read the book, I’ve seen worse. I didn’t think they made enough tension on the difference’s between the alien and humans. It was entertaining enough.

Was it worth the watch? Yes, but it didn’t have a big screen impact. I could’ve watched it at home.

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 3/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

The fifth wave book review

War of the worlds film review

2 thoughts on “The fifth wave film review

Leave a Reply

