The fifth wave by Rick Yancey book review

16101128

The 1st wave took out half a million people.

The 2nd wave put that number to shame.

The 3rd wave lasted a little longer, twelve weeks…four billion dead.

In the 4th wave you can’t trust that people are still people.

And the 5th wave? No one knows. But it’s coming.

On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs. Runs from the beings that only look human, who have scattered Earth’s last survivors.

To stay alone is to stay alive, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be her only hope.

Now Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death.

This book is mostly written in first person. Cassie is who we meet first and is our narrator for the majority of times.

Now, Cassie and I didn’t get off to a great start which, when you’re reading a novel in a 1st person perspective, is a pretty bad thing.

I can’t pinpoint why I didn’t like her. Perhaps her almost flippant narration at the start which had me wondering this was going to be a serious read like I got the sense it should be.

Eventually, I warmed up to her. She became a little more serious and, by the end, I loved her. She’s most likely my favourite character and I liked all the characters in the novel.

Each character, no matter how minor or major their role in their story, were solid and well developed.

I was very impressed with the quality of the writing. Rick Yancey is an excellent story teller, description, dialogue = brilliant.

At times, I was impatient, desperate to find out what happened which was a positive and negative in its favour.

Rick Yancey is excellent at building tension. Let me tell you, the ending of this book had my heart pounding, fingers digging into the pages. My eyes sometimes got ahead of me in my haste to find out what happened.

But! The book is way too long. Some scenes are way too drawn out which led me to feeling frustrated. The only thing that tempered this was excellent writing, but for awhile I felt the story wasn’t moving forward even though lots of things were happening.

This is the first book in a trilogy. I mulled over whether I wanted to read the second. I liked the book, but I didn’t want to read something dragged out again, no matter how excellent the plot, writing and characters are.

However, on checking the second book out on goodreads, I noticed that it’s 320 pages long almost 200 pages less than this one, so, yes, I’m going to read it. I have hope.

To sum up, brilliant writing, solid characters, too drawn out

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? No

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Stars: 4/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

The infinite sea book review

The fifth wave film review

16 thoughts on “The fifth wave by Rick Yancey book review

  1. rakioddbooks 20/01/2016 / 11:53 pm

    Ahh! I considered buying the book last weekend but the size!!
    Great review by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 21/01/2016 / 12:12 am

      Way too long, but the next one is shorter so I’m hoping the next one won’t be so drawn out.

      Great writing though! If you can try a chapter or two to see if you like the writing?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bound to Be Me 07/02/2016 / 2:02 am

    This is a great review!! I have been on the fence about this book and there have been so many mixed reviews. I’ll give this book a chance and hope for the best! I love your blog and can’t wait to follow along! I hope you get a chance to check out my blog and hopefully find something you like 🙂
    http://www.boundtobeme.org/

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 07/02/2016 / 8:36 am

      I think it’s really well written so it’s, at the very least, worth a try!

      I’ll be reading the second one at some point this week.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bound to Be Me 07/02/2016 / 3:00 pm

        I look forward to see what you think of the second book!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

