X-men: Days of the future past film review

UK release date: 22/5/14

Runtime: 131 minutes

Directed by: Bryan Singer

Starring:  Hugh Jackman, James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, Jennifer Lawrence, Halle Berry, Nicholas Hoult, Anna Paquin, Ellen Page, Peter Dinklage, Shawn Ashmore, Omar Sy, Ian McKellen, Patrick Stewart

This is the sequel of X-men: First class. You can find a link to that review at the bottom of this one.

That beginning…WOW. It had a terminator feel to it, but thankfully it didn’t stay that way for long.

That ending…WOW. You cannot BEGIN to understand how excited I am for the next X-men films because that ending left me hankering for more. AMAZING.

Just…Hold on, I need to go squeal and flail into a pillow for awhile.

This film is very, very clever, incredibly so. I can’t fault one point of this film. I loved it to pieces. (Can you tell I enjoyed it?) The dialogue, the acting, the pacing, the magnificent plot, it never stumbled once. They managed to balance everything so well!

In my review of X-men: First class, I wrote how I struggled to see Jennifer Lawerence as Mystique and, while she isn’t how I imagined her, it’s brilliantly done why she isn’t. I mean, this is a young Mystique. Not only that, Jennifer Lawerence is a stunning actress so she completely sold her to me.

Thankfully after the disappointment of The wolverine film, Hugh Jackman is back on top form as Logan. YAY!

I pretty much adore Nicholas Hoult…as Hank, I mean. *Cough* *Blush*

My only grumble would’ve been I would’ve liked Magento (Michael Fassbender) to have been more involved, but if I’m honest, it could have only gone down the way it did.

If you loved First class or anyone of the previous X-men trilogy, you’ll love this, probably even more than them.

To sum up, Amazing, Sends you into fangirl/boy mode, GIVE ME NEXT FILM NOW!

Was it worth the watch? YES

Would I re-watch? YES

Stars: 5/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

X-men: First class film review

The wolverine film review

6 thoughts on “X-men: Days of the future past film review

  1. sublimereads 20/01/2016 / 12:58 am

    I wouldn’t call myself a fan of the series, but I really enjoyed this movie! I was sad I waited til it came out on DVD… I feel it would have been even better in theaters XD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. filmmusiccentral 22/01/2016 / 1:22 am

    I’ve been very much on the fence with this gradual reboot of the X-Men with younger actors…but this movie almost made me willing to buy in (I think X-Men Apocalypse will push me over the edge)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

