The revenant film review

UK release date: 15/1/16

Runtime: 156 minutes

Directed by: Alejandro González Iñárritu

Starring: Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hardy, Domhnall Gleeson, Will Poulter, Forrest Goodluck

Revenant means, a person who has returned, especially supposedly from the dead.

I actually don’t know what genre I’d consider this film to be in. It isn’t an action film per se. It feels incredibly realist as if I’m watching a true life tale. It had a lot of symbolism that I got the gist of, but couldn’t really put into words to explain.

It’s a cruelly, beautiful, well made, film with lots of awe filled scenes. It’s the kind of film that immediately fosters silence. Everyone is absorbed by what’s happening on the screen and wouldn’t dare talk during it.

It isn’t a dialogue heavy film and Leonardo DiCaprio does an amazing job conveying a wide range of emotions through body language and actions alone.

I think I’d love Tom Hardy in anything. Although, I didn’t appreciate you chompsing in my ear. *Shudder*

It has an amazing score that’ll have you instantly recognizing what film it’s from, like Jaws or Star Wars have and other films with memorable scores. The music has to be my favourite thing about this film along with Leonardo’s acting.

It did feel a little stretched out and long, but even this felt like it was part of the film in a weird way. I liked it and thought it was different, but probably not for hardcore action lovers. The film’s like a gentle current.

I’d like to mention how, at the end of the film, it mentions how it was based in part on the book. As a reader, I appreciated that by using the words in part they admitted to taking a bit of creative freedom.

To sum up, Beautiful, Leonardo DiCaprio is amazing, rememberable scores.

Dad’s opinion: I thought it was very, very well made and very interesting. A cut above the normal standard of films about. Very impressed.

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 4/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Everest film review

In the heart of the sea film review

6 thoughts on “The revenant film review

  1. emmakwall 18/01/2016 / 9:41 pm

    Great review Jen! And dad of course 🙂 (loved that!)

    #chocolate

    In all seriousness thank you for telling me what that word means, I never knew before reading this! It sounds like a film that must be watched and ideally in a cinema. I like the way you enjoyed it a lot but said no to a re-watch, I’ve felt that way about movies, like Les Mis! I only went because my mum wanted to see it and whilst I’ve never watched it again, I DID genuinely love the experience!

    Thanks for your review which has been my favourite I’ve read, it tells me what I need to know and has actually given me the clearest image of what to expect. And I love the detail you wrote about the music, I’ll keep my already slightly big ears open when I watch 🙂 I love a good score.

    Interesting about dialogue too, even given the premise I didn’t think about how there might not be much. Surely Leo will win that Oscar this time!!!

    What’s all this about Tom Hardy and your ear?!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury 19/01/2016 / 10:08 am

    Ooh, I’m interested in this one!! And loving the sound of the filming and acting. I’m in such awe of actors who can like carry a film just based on their expressions and body language alone and stuff. TALENT.
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 19/01/2016 / 10:50 am

      Leanardo DiCaprio is amazing in this and that comes from someone who like Tom Hardy better!

      Like

  3. MyBookJacket 20/01/2016 / 2:20 am

    I don’t think i’d have the patience to watch this if not in theatre. But Dicaprio brings so much skill to everything. And I’ve got to watch all his films. (I still haven’t watched wolf of Wall Street, shameful. I know.) I’m glad you enjoyed this.

    Like

      • MyBookJacket 20/01/2016 / 11:31 am

        No. *looks down in embarrassment.*But I have the DVD so that’s there. Maybe I ought to watch it after all.

        Like

Leave a Reply

