Never let me sleep by Jennifer Brozek book review

26098822

What would you do if you discovered that everyone–in your house, on your street, in your town–was dead? Then you discovered you weren’t alone–and whatever was out there was hunting you?

Melissa Allen, a troubled teen who was under house arrest, is the only person left alive in South Dakota. After discovering the mysterious deaths of her guardians and hearing of the massacre on the news, she realizes that there are monsters out there. They are pretending to be human, and they’ve have begun a door-to-door search–for her.

Melissa is unable to leave the quarantine zone, and has no help except for Homeland Security agent David Hood on the phone. Before the government takes drastic action, she must figure out what killed everyone and stop it from happening again. Or did Melissa herself, in a psychotic fit, murder her guardians–and the rest of the apocalypse is happening only inside her mind?

I had high hopes for this book. The blurb was brilliant and I’d read the prologue and was immediately hooked. I settled in for what I thought was going to be tense, book gripping, fear filled, adrenaline rising, ride. Unfortunately everything went downhill after the prologue.

It’s written in first person which isn’t my favourite viewpoint to read from. I think people mistake it to be easy to write from, but I think it’s the hardest and so easy to get wrong.

The writing itself is well written, but there’s so much unnecessary description, entire rooms are described for no reason and have no bearing on the plot. In fact, there are a lot of things that seem unnecessary to the plot. And what plot there is, which could have been a solid, excellent idea, has things in it that are never resolved or explained. The Author also has the habit of telling us what action the character is about to take and then the character does it.

The entire book seemed pointless. I’m aware that there are sequels and this feels like something that the Author has used to set up for the next books instead of being a great read in its own right. It needed to be longer and to have a more solid plot. It felt flimsy and unbelievable

I was constantly aware that this was a piece of fiction. I couldn’t immerse myself into the book and kept being jolted out of it.

The main Character, I couldn’t get on with and she didn’t read as the age she supposedly was. She also seemed too calm, ironically, and way too competent.

I felt Melissa could have been an excellent character and that her issues could have really made the book. I think that is what the Author was going for, but didn’t quite make it. She was way too nice to her character.

I’m unsure whether or not I’m willing to try the sequel as I mentioned the writing itself is good, but the execution is not. I may try a few chapters in the hopes that it’s an improvement.

Was it worth the read? No

Would I re-read? No

Would I read this Author again? Yes, the writing is good, it’s the execution that’s not quite there.

Stars: 2/6

Leave a Reply

