X-men: First class film review

UK release date: 1/6/11

Runtime: 132 minutes

Directed by: Matthew Vaughn

Starring: James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, Rose Byrne, Jennifer Lawrence, January Jones, Nicholas Hoult, Oliver Platt, Jason Flemyng, Lucas Till, Edi Gathegi, Kevin Bacon
Wow…just wow. I love the other X-men films because of all the familiar characters, but I would say this is up there as one the most well made of the lot.

The casting was brilliant, although I found Jennifer Lawerence as Mystique hard to see, but I think that’s because it was a younger, more feeling Mystique rather than anything to do with Jennifer Lawerence’s acting skills. (Which are super).

My favourite of the lot were Michael Fassbender who plays a perfect young Magneto and James McAvoy who has Charles Xavier down to a pat. I loved their scenes together too. I think they bounce off each other brilliantly. (Have to say I loved Michael Fassbender more though.)

The antagonist’s are the best kind. The ones who you understand and, while not condoning, you can sympathize with.

I was glued to this film. Fast paced with a great story. Even knowing from the past films what will inevitably happen didn’t dampen my enjoyment as films like that would. I cannot wait to watch the next. I imagine it’s going to get even further into the action with intriguing twists and turns.

I loved the music too, really atmospheric and perfect for the tone of the movie. The films brings up a lot of real life questions too so not only a brilliant action film, but one that makes you think.

If you love x-men and/or brilliant actions films then this is a must watch.

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 5/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

The wolverine film review

7 thoughts on “X-men: First class film review

  1. Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny 17/01/2016 / 6:07 am

    I loved this one, but I thought Days of Future Past was even better! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

