Creed film review

UK release date: 15/1/16

Runtime: 133 minutes

Directed by: Ryan Coogler

Starring: Michael B. Jordan, Sylvester Stallone, Tessa Thompson, Phylicia Rashād, Tony Bellew

A spin off of the brilliant Rocky series starring Sylvester Stallone which has Apollo’s Creed son, Adonis Creed, as the main star.

Creed lives up to its predecessor’s legacy. (Pretty cool, snappy, one sentence tag line, right? I know, I’m proud of it too.) And it had a lot to live to. My brother is a MASSIVE Rocky fan and he told me he thought it was brilliant, and I agree.

Michael B. Jordan does phenomenal job at bearing the wait of the Rocky series. To be honest, he just plain does a brilliant job. He manages to convey the emotional baggage of his character without a word. He is his own antagonist which was done brilliantly. He’s, without a doubt, my favourite character of the movie.

I loved Rocky and Adonis’ Creed’s relationship and the banter had me grinning. I thought Tessa Thompson, despite being basically a love interest, was a brilliantly strong character and, thankfully, the romantic element didn’t overtake the film.

I would’ve liked to have seen Phylicia Rashād’s character (Mary Anne Creed, Apollo’s Creed’s widow), to have had a larger part.

I loved the music choices within the film and will have to hunt them down. They fit perfectly to the atmosphere of the film.

It’s brilliantly paced and has a good balance of boxing scene and plot moving scenes. If you like the Rocky films, you’ll like this.

To sum up, Lives up to the hype, well paced, great acting

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 5/6

8 thoughts on “Creed film review

  1. newguy87 15/01/2016 / 6:36 pm

    Great Review, I enjoyed this one, i went through all the Rocky’s for the first time in about a month leading into this one which i can safely say is my favourite.

    It really was the year of the reboot sequel in 2015 with this, Star Wars, Mad Max and Jurassic World

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 15/01/2016 / 6:37 pm

      I hadn’t even realized until you mentioned. I think I like Creed the best too. (Sh, don’t tell my bro.)

      The only film I wasn’t impressed with was Jurassic world.

      Liked by 1 person

      • newguy87 15/01/2016 / 6:42 pm

        i have seen Jurassic world twice and both times i am sat there going i don’t like this but i want to watch it weird feeling

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 15/01/2016 / 6:44 pm

        Ah, I know that feeling. There’s film that come on the TV that I don’t like, but still end up watching. Paul is one that comes to mind.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

