The Wolverine film review

UK release date: 24/7/13

Runtime: 126 minutes

Directed by: James Mangold

Starring: Hugh Jackman, Hiroyuki Sanada, Tao Okamoto, Rila Fukushima, Famke Janssen, Will Yun Lee, Svetlana Khodchenkova, Haruhiko Yamanouchi, Brian Tee

This film feels like a fan service, riding off the popularity off the other films and the popular character of Wolverine.

I feel as if this film is an opportunity for Wolverine to be an angsty, brooding, poor done by, hero. I got it in all the other films. The dude needs a hug!

It’s not a very X-men like film. The plot was shallow, riddled with several cliches and some pretty dull mutants.

I’m still not quite sure what the plot was about, besides the obvious elements that I saw coming a mile off, and, to be honest, found the whole film pointless. I’m pretty sure I spent most of the time rolling my eyes because it took way too long!

Besides Hugh Jackman nobody stood out, not due for poor acting, but more because their characters were pretty dull. There was nothing unique about them and most fit into a stereotype, damsel in distress ect.

The only thing worth it about the film is the small scene after the credits. Now that had my attention.

To sum up, Pointless plot, Mediocre character, Logan needs a hug

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 2/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

The amazing Spiderman film review

9 thoughts on “The Wolverine film review

  1. filmfunkel 14/01/2016 / 11:25 pm

    2 out of 6 is right – what were those guys thinking? :/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Drew 15/01/2016 / 4:26 am

    This was better than the first Wolverine movie but not by much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 15/01/2016 / 9:36 am

      Do you mean Origins or the very first X-men?

      I preferred them to this, but only just where Origins is concerned.

      Like

      • Drew 15/01/2016 / 12:37 pm

        Origins. It’s no X2 but I really like the first X-Men. I thought X-Men Origins: Wolverine was just bad.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 15/01/2016 / 3:05 pm

        I’d agree with that.

        I feel as if they’re focusing a tad too much on Wolverine’s character too. I know he’s popular, but still…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

