The spook’s apprentice by Joseph Delaney book review

33956

Warning: Not To Be Read After Dark.

Thomas Ward is the seventh son of a seventh son and has been apprenticed to the local Spook. The job is hard, the Spook is distant and many apprentices have failed before him. Somehow Thomas must learn how to exorcise ghosts,contain witches and bind boggarts. But when he is tricked into freeing Mother Malkin, the most evil witch in the county, the horror begins.

I prefer to read book’s in third person. I like being able to view ‘more’ of the story rather than being stuck with main character. It’s ironic then that one of my favourite books is written in first person.

I think it’s very difficult to write first person well. The spook’s apprentice is an example of how to do it well, scratch that, brilliantly. The writing is beautifully simple and manages to convey a fast pacing, absorbing story.

I’ve re-read this book on multiple occasions. The simplicity of the writing makes it a relaxing read even with the danger that lurks within.

I don’t feel as if I’m missing out on anything by reading a book in first person which has happened to me when reading other books.

I love the plot of this book and how everything happens. I love how the characters interact with each other.

This book is for older children to young adult. It’s stated to be a horror book and, while younger readers may find it scary, I didn’t, even when I read it as a teenager. That doesn’t take away from the brilliance of the book.

I definitely recommend this for young, teenage boys who are reluctant readers and need that one book that gets them fully interested in reading.

To sum up, Beautifully written, Fantastic array of character, First person well done

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Yes

Stars: 6/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

The Devouring book review

6 thoughts on “The spook’s apprentice by Joseph Delaney book review

  1. MyBookJacket 14/01/2016 / 6:55 am

    Well yes you weren’t scared because you love horror. I’d end up sobbing uncontrollably. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 14/01/2016 / 9:37 am

      I don’t think so. You might enjoy it! It’s aimed at younger readers so the horror is quite tame. It certainly isn’t graphic.

      Like

Leave a Reply

