In the heart of the sea film review

UK release date: 26/12/15

Runtime: 121 minutes

Directed by: Ron Howard

Starring: Chris Hemsworth, Benjamin Walker, Cillian Murphy,, Tom Holland, Ben Whishaw, Brendan Gleeson

This is one of those unique films that’s different from the action loaded, drama impacted films that we know, (and love.)

Which makes this film not for everyone. It isn’t a heroic story, it’s one about men, sailors, and I think that’ll disappoint some people. This is a story about men and their consciousnesses.

Although, there’s a lot of films that have come out recently designed to tug on the heart strings and wanting to tell an important, and occasionally, true story.

This film is based on the non-fiction novel of the same name by Nathaniel Philbrick. The book, and the film, are about the sinking of the American whaling ship Essex in 1820. The event which inspired the novel Moby-Dick.

The film’s not as action dramatic as expected, but it is still dramatic. It feels more realistic as if it really is conveying the true events. You can believe what you’re watching. It’s very well made with some beautiful and haunting scenes. Although, at times it seems to stumble and lose the rising tensions it sought so hard to achieve.

I found the narrative irritating at first, the way it switched from past to present, but in the end, this is what had me invested in the story.

Every actor plays his role well, (yes, even the whale). Christ Hemsworth is brilliant in his role, perfectly flawed which I liked.

That being said, it took me awhile to feel an emotion for the sailors because, well, they’re whalers. They kill whales for a living. So, I find it a major achievement that I did end up shedding tears for them because people who harm animals are pretty quick to end on My List.

Some of the best, most emotional scenes are near the end. They’re the ones I’ll remember.

To sum up, Beautiful, rememberable, Realistic, Raw

Dad’s opinion: It was well made, incredibly realistic. It didn’t feel like a movie. I loved every bit of it, even more than I did Bridge of spies.

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 4/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Bridge of spies film review

Macbeth film review

Suffragette film review

Everest film review

You can look in the watched section for more reviews!

14 thoughts on “In the heart of the sea film review

  1. emmakwall 13/01/2016 / 12:30 pm

    Awesome review Jen! I was kind of in two minds about watching this, but was leaning further towards ‘yes I’d enjoy it’. Anyway, your review has just reinforced my ‘yes I’d enjoy it’ feeling 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 13/01/2016 / 1:33 pm

      Yay! Looking forward to seeing what you think. I know it’s had mixed reviews.

      The general gist I’ve gotten is that it’s disappointed people somehow.

      Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 13/01/2016 / 2:16 pm

        I have read some less than favourable reviews but I still held hope and your review gave me more hope 🙂 plus, it has such an awesome cast right?!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 13/01/2016 / 2:19 pm

        Yes, the cast is great. And no one outshines anyone else thankfully.

        Like

  2. The Galaxial Word 14/01/2016 / 12:29 am

    I haven’t seen this yet, but I think I’ll have to soon, if only to judge it for myself. It came out to mixed reviews, with some people saying it was bland and boring and others raving about what a good modern adaptation of Moby Dick it was. I wonder if it’s still in cinemas in Australia.

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 14/01/2016 / 9:32 am

      It’s more about the true story that inspired Moby Dick, but it’s still good. I think expectations ruined this for some people. Hope you like it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. MyBookJacket 14/01/2016 / 7:08 am

    Agree with you people who harm animals bit. I wanted to watch this but I just can’t bring myself to. I like how you include your dad’s opinion. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 14/01/2016 / 11:28 am

      Thanks. We’re both cry babies when it comes to animals in films, and there are bits that’ll upset you, but I still recommend it.

      Like

  4. SERIESous Book Reviews 16/01/2016 / 11:06 pm

    I’m really intrigued to see this though I’ll admit I don’t know anything about Moby Dick or its author. I completely forgot that this came out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

