Murder by numbers film review

UK release date: 28/6/02

Runtime: 120 minutes

Directed by: Barbet Schroeder

Starring: Sandra Bullock, Ben Chaplin, Ryan Gosling, Michael Pitt

A psychological thriller starring Sandra Bullock who, while being naturally likeable, (who can not love Sandra Bullock?!), manages to convey a complex character who you have a hard time liking.

I spent the majority of the film convinced that Michael Pitt’s and Ryan Gosling’s characters were going to snog. Their interactions were strange for a non romantic relationship.

To be honest, this is probably the worst Sandra Bullock film I’ve seen. It has way too many different ideas and things going on. It tries to be mysterious and complex, but ends up being clunky and dull. I felt every second of those two hours.

I also hate those kinds of films where it informs you of the killer from the start. What’s the point? There’s no mystery!

There music is brilliantly eerie, but the sound effects tended to take over and it was relied on too heavily to create atmosphere.

There are much better thrillers out there. For example, The Net starring Sandra Bullock is excellent and well worth watching.

Dad’s opinion: Sandra Bullock is in it and that’s all that matters.

To sum up, Boring, too many things happening, Uninspired, Sandra Bullock brilliant

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 2/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Solace film review

The bone collector film review

6 thoughts on “Murder by numbers film review

  1. filmfunkel 12/01/2016 / 11:18 pm

    Wow, now you got me wondering about Sandra’s worst role. :/

    I might have gone with 28 Days.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 13/01/2016 / 9:23 am

      I didn’t think 28 days was too bad. It had clear plot. This kind of muddled around trying to look really complex and wasn’t, more that it might have been one of her worse movies than roles.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. emmakwall 13/01/2016 / 12:36 pm

    I quite enjoyed this film I must admit but I can see its flaws and plot holes 100%! But it was entertaining for me to watch and despite being a 2002 movie, it just has that 90s thriller feel, which I do like.

    Plus, totally agree with you on the sexual tension between the boys, I thought that too! And in all seriousness I do think Gosling’s character was a bit in love with Pitt’s character.

    And why does Pitt always play weirdos? Hmm? Hmm?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 13/01/2016 / 1:32 pm

      He was totally in love with him, look how jealous he was. I love those 90 thrillers, but this one just missed the mark for me. I can’t think of the last recent film that’s been a good thriller kind of feel to it. What happened? D:

      Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 13/01/2016 / 2:19 pm

        There’s something about those 90s thrillers, the feel / the look, they just don’t exist anymore!! Have you seen Fear with Mark Wahlberg and Reece Whetherspoon? That’s one of my favourites. And Kalifornia with Brad Pitt and Juliette Lewis, love that one too!

        He was SOOOOOO in love with him, I really think that’s true!!!!

        P.S totally forgot to say I prefer The Net too!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 13/01/2016 / 2:21 pm

        I am ashamed to say I’ve neither. D: Will make a note of them though.

        I crime thriller must not be popular at the moment. Although, the girl on train comes out this year so finger’s crossed for that!

        Like

Leave a Reply

