The amazing Spiderman film review

UK release date: 3/7/12

Runtime: 136 minutes

Directed by: Marc Webb

Starring: Andrew Garfield, Emma Stone,Rhys Ifans, Denis Leary, Campbell Scott, Irrfan Khan, Martin Sheen, Sally Field

I’ve seen the previous Spiderman trilogy starring Tobey Maguire . I watched the Spiderman cartoons as a child and yet I had no idea who Gwen Stacy was. I spent most of the film thinking who the heck is she? And where is Mary Jane?! On further research it turns out Gwen came before MJ…huh.

Anyway! I’m a little confused why they made a remake of a film that’s, let’s face it, not that old. I’m going to guess it’s because this version is more true to the spidey verse and maybe to do with the whole super hero mania that’s been happening for the last few years.

It’s a pretty well made film as good as the previous triliogy. It just doesn’t feel as epic as the other marvel films. Maybe it’s unfair to compare, but it is what it is.

It made me laugh several times and, of course, it made me cry. Anyone who knows Spiderman will likely know why.

It’s got some great action scenes, but I wish some of the story element s had played out a little more. Things were mentioned, but that was it. Maybe they’ll be used in the sequel, maybe not, but I still felt a little disappointed.

I liked Andrew Garfield as Spiderman. He’s exactly the jokey, quip making that I imagined Spiderman is. But then he seems completely different as Peter Parker….Gasp! I just ruined his secret identity. Ignore that!!

I also liked Emma Stone as Gwen even if I had no idea who the heck she was until googling it afterward. Although, Peter and Gwen scenes had me gritting my teeth. I felt like it took too much of the screen time up.

I think I’m getting old because how the heck are these seventeen year olds switched on and badass.. I was no way grown up like that at seventeen.

And Rhys Ifans  is amazing as Dr. Connors I especially liked his alter ego, really brilliantly badass.

To sum up, fast paced, good origin story, missing some epicness, things unresolved

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 4/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Iron Man 3 film review

Thor: The dark world film review

The Avengers film review

Captain America: The first Avenger

5 thoughts on “The amazing Spiderman film review

  1. Docthewho 15/01/2016 / 12:32 am

    I loved Garfield as Spiderman, I feel like we’re in the minority of people that really dug TAS 1 and 2.

    Like

Leave a Reply

