Weekly update

Ahhh, it’s been nice to settle back into the routine of my blog. Did I mention how much I missed it? I did? Oh well, you know what? I don’t care! I missed it sooo MUCH!

Ahem! So, I just got back from watching Star Wars: The force awakens. Amazing film. If you haven’t seen it yet, what is wrong with you?!

I watched it in 3D and I can confirm that I’m not a fan of 3D. It’s really distracting, instead of enhancing the film it takes away. I’m really glad I watched it in 2D first. I’ve come away with eye ache and a headache.

Anyway, you’ll have noticed that I’ve been watch lots of superhero films recently. I’ll be continuing in this vein, with a few others to mix it up. I’ve realized how incredibly excited I am for Deadpool to come out.

I mean, I was excited, but I didn’t realize how hyped up I was. I recently saw a trailer. I tend to avoid them because I worry about spoilers, but I was in the cinema and went in too early, so it was unavoidable. It was AMAZING! It looks like a brilliant film. I’m really hoping I’ve not set my hopes too high.

Now that I’ve finished fangirling over a film that comes out in FEBURARY, a whole MONTH away. Let’s get onto what’s happening this week.

For one, Creed will be out this week. Friday to be exact. I’ve heard good things from those who went to the unlimited screening so I’m expecting to be impressed.

You’ll be getting a review of The amazing spiderman on Monday to continue the unofficial superhero theme we’ve got going. I also plan to watch  In the heart of the sea at some point this week too.

As for books!

I’ll be reviewing The Spook’s Apprentice by Joseph Delaney and Never let me sleep by Jennifer Brozek. There’s also some new releases coming out soon that I plan to read.

If any of you are on my goodreads you’ll have noticed, (or not), that I’ve quite a few books that have films being released soon.

I plan to review them a few weeks before the films come out. Hopefully, they’re excellent and I can recommend you read them. A few of those books are:

The 5th wave by Rick Yancey – A young adult post apocalyptic novel. From the description it looks good, although I’m a little worried there’s going to be romance that is often found in young adult dystopian kinds of books.

Pride and prejudice and zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith  – I think it’s pretty self explanatory. 😉

The BFG by Roald Dahl – I adored Roald Dahl as a child and have fond memories of him so I can’t wait to re-read one. It’s been too long.

Through the looking glass by Lewis Carroll – I’ve read the first Alice in wonderland book and I liked it well enough that I want to read the second.

A monster calls by Patrick Ness – I’m not quite sure what this is about, but I’m really intrigued and expecting a complex story.

The girl on the train by Paula Hawkins – A psychological thriller. It has a fascinating plot that I’m looking forward to delving into.

Fantastic beasts and where to find them by JK Rowling – I haven’t read JK Rowling since the Harry Potter series and I haven’t read them since they came out.

The HP series is magical for me because reading is a solitary activity and yet each time one came out, it felt as if we were reading them together. I’m looking forward to coming back to the world.
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransome Riggs – The blurb for this book is amazing. I am so looking forward to reading this! Spooky paranormal history.

Well that’s all from me. Until next week! Hope you enjoy the reviews!

Twitter

Goodreads

20 thoughts on “Weekly update

  1. Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny 10/01/2016 / 10:20 pm

    Jen, you must read A Monster Calls this very moment. Like right now. Go to a bookstore and buy it, than read it, and love it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 10/01/2016 / 11:14 pm

      OK, it’s 11pm, but I WILL FIND A BOOKSTORE THAT IS OPEN! Why would you get me excited like that?! Seriously though, first thing tomorrow, I’ll hunt it down.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. rakioddbooks 11/01/2016 / 1:15 am

    I haven’t watched Star Wars because I simply don’t care. I watched the original trilogy when I was little and can hardly remember anything. I don’t really feel like continuing the series. Although I was excited that Harrison Ford was going to be back.
    I hear you should have Kleenex ready when you read A Monster Calls.

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 11/01/2016 / 9:50 am

      Oh no, Is A monster calls going to make me cry?

      I was a bit meh over the original trilogies, but newest one is really fantastic. If you like these kind of films, sci fi ect, you won’t regret watching it.

      Like

      • rakioddbooks 11/01/2016 / 11:20 am

        Yeah, I don’t really like sci fi, that’s why I’m not too excited about the movies.

        Liked by 1 person

      • rakioddbooks 14/01/2016 / 6:47 am

        Fantasy, Action, Horror, and Comedy. I especially like horror comedy. So much fun!

        Like

      • Combustible reviews 14/01/2016 / 9:35 am

        Ooh, have you seen Zombieland then? And then there’s Shaun of the dead and Hot fuzz.

        Like

      • rakioddbooks 14/01/2016 / 4:15 pm

        Yup! Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz are two of my favorite movies. I kid you not, I’ve watched them at least 50 times each. They’re my go to movies. I also liked Zombieland but I don’t watch it as often. One sci fi comedy movie I absolutely love is The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 14/01/2016 / 4:31 pm

        I’ve seen Hitchhiker’s and I’m not a fan. I loved the book and just recently bought the audio book. (Library sale, 40p bargain!)

        Liked by 1 person

      • rakioddbooks 14/01/2016 / 4:43 pm

        Favorite book!!!! I loved the movie so much I read the book. I had no idea it was based on a book when I first watched it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 14/01/2016 / 4:44 pm

        I think how much you like it sometimes depends on whether you’ve read the book first or not.

        Like

      • rakioddbooks 14/01/2016 / 4:45 pm

        Also, hooray for bargains!!!
        I’ve thought about buying the audio book but I’m afraid I’ll be disappointed. I already have a voice inside my head (the narrator from the movie) and if it’s anyone else, I’ll be extremely disappointed.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Lily Jean's Books and Tea 11/01/2016 / 10:10 am

    I can’t wait for Deadpool as well 😀 And Star Wars film is AMAZING. And this is someone is a little bit meh when it comes to the Sci-fi genre XD

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 11/01/2016 / 10:18 am

      I really hope Deadpool is as good as it looks.

      I love Finn and Rey so much! Have you seen The Martian that’s another film I’d recommend.

      Like

      • Lily Jean's Books and Tea 11/01/2016 / 10:50 am

        No I haven’t but I did hear the book is a huge recommendation. I didn’t realise it’s a film as well.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 11/01/2016 / 1:02 pm

        It actually follows the book really well. I’d say one of the best book to movie adaptions I’ve seen.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

