The Dark Lord of Derkholm by Diana Wynne Jones book review

18303141.jpg

Querida, High Chancellor of the wizards’ university, has received more than a million letters, from wizards, farmers, soldiers, elves, dragons and kings, all begging her to put a stop to Mr. Chesney’s Pilgrim Parties, groups of tourists from the nextdoor world who descend once a year.

Their expectations – all the trappings of a fantasy land: Dark Lord, Evil Enchantress, Winged Minions, Wizard Guides and all – are devastating the world and the inhabitants have had enough.

But Mr. Chesney’s orders are backed by a very powerful demon, and Querida can’t say no. In desperation, she takes a thief, a priest and a wizard to consult the Oracles, The first person you must be this year’s Dark Lord, they are told. And the second must be Wizard Guide to the last tour. And unfortunately for the Wizard Derk and his son Blade, that’s them.

I remember reading this book for the first time when I was in high school and it was this book that really set off my love of fantasy. I was completely fascinated with the story and the characters and devoured the book 350 odd page book the same day.

This is a unique, fun fantasy novel with a vast amount of interesting characters. Seriously, the characters cracked me up. The animals were absolutely my favourite. (The non-speaking kind. Dragons ect do not count.)

The book does suffer from head hopping a little, but not badly and I barely noticed it after awhile.

And while it doesn’t have the smoothest transition between different viewpoints, I enjoy reading from each character’s perspective.

There’s so many brilliant ideas and moments in this book. Although, some of them never quite reach their climax and their resolution is anti-climatic. Despite this, it was enjoyable book, well written and I can’t wait to read the sequel.

If you’re a fan of fantasy quests with a sense of humour then I highly recommend this book.

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Yes

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Stars: 5/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Howl’s moving castle book review

Howl’s moving castle film review

5 thoughts on “The Dark Lord of Derkholm by Diana Wynne Jones book review

  1. RedHeadedBookLover 10/01/2016 / 4:11 pm

    Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed your post. To say it is great (not just this post, all of yours!) is an understatement. You are really talented (:
    Because of how much I loved this post I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is both amazing and beautiful! I am so happy I came across your blog and I can’t wait to read more from you, so keep it up (:
    By the way this comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

