Captain America: The first avenger film review

UK release date: 29/7/11

Runtime: 124 minutes

Directed by: Joe Johnston

Starring: Chris Evans, Tommy Lee Jones, Hugo Weaving, Hayley Atwell, Sebastian Stan, Dominic Cooper, Neal McDonough, Derek Luke, Stanley Tucci

Note: This film is available on Netflix at the time of this review.

Why has it taken me so long to watch all the cool super hero films? Seriously.

This is set before The Avengers so watch this first!

This film is pretty much an origin story. It’s more serious than many of the recent marvel films. I found the tone perfect. It fits the character perfectly.

I loved Steve Rogers more than I did Captain America if that makes sense. How did they manage to make Chris Evans look so skinny?! Ok, I know it was special effects or whatever, but wow.

Hugo Weaving is an excellent baddie. And Tommy Lee Jones is excellent at being Tommy Lee Jones.

It’s fast paced with a clear plan of what it wants to tell us. By the end, which is fantastically climatic, it’s set up for future films.

I was engrossed in it from start to finish. It moved smoothly. While Captain America isn’t my favourite super hero, I still think this film is one of the best and most well made of the recent marvel films.

To sum up, Great acting, tense and fast paced, Direct and to the point

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Stars: 5/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Iron man 3 film review

The avengers film review

17 thoughts on “Captain America: The first avenger film review

  1. Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny 08/01/2016 / 11:51 pm

    As good as this one was, I thought that Captain America: The Winter Soldier was by far better! You must watch it asap! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Drew 09/01/2016 / 12:26 am

    I really like Peggy Carter in this movie. Hayley Atwell does such a fantastic job. At first I wasn’t sure about Chris Evans as Steve Rogers but he surprised me. This is actually my least favorite of the Marvel Phase One movies. Not a bad movie, there is no such thing as a bad Marvel Studios movie, the others just rank higher. Good review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 09/01/2016 / 11:36 am

      I liked her too. I like how strong the women are in the marvel films. Or at least not just romantic interests.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Galaxial Word 09/01/2016 / 2:47 am

    I haven’t seen any of the Captain America films except for Winter Soldier so I can’t really compare them, but from memory, I think I enjoyed Winter Soldier. I have fuzzy recollections about what it was about but nothing too clear.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. MyBookJacket 14/01/2016 / 6:47 am

    I always find superhero films boring. I tend to like e TV shows more. I haven’t watched any captain America films apart from winter soldier. Actually ashamed to say I didn’t know others existed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 14/01/2016 / 9:36 am

      It took me this long to watch the superhero films. I have not got the patience for TV shows. I binge watch several episodes and then just stop watching.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

