The Danish girl film review

UK release date: 1/1/16

Runtime: 119 minutes

Directed by: Tom Hooper

Starring: Eddie Redmayne, Alicia Vikander, Matthias Schoenaerts, Ben Whishaw, Sebastian Koch, Amber Heard

The Danish girl is based on the novel of the same name by David Ebershoff.

The Danish girl is breathtaking from the moment it started and as soon as I heard the delicate piano playing, which managed to capture the emotion of the entire film, I knew it was going to be a powerful, moving film throughout.

And let me tell you that it had me in tears. This is the kind of film that you remember and that you have to talk to people about. It has the same tone and evokes the same kind of feeling that the 2015 film Suffragette has. If you liked that, you’ll like this, (and visa versa.)

Eddie Redmayne and Alicia Vikander are phenomenal in their parts and have amazing chemistry together, just…wow.

In fact, I don’t think there was a person I didn’t like. I feel as if every character was true to the time period. The film knew what it wanted to say and never strayed from that. It was tight.

It hasn’t got forced conflict, (which it certainly doesn’t need), it feels very organic and action junkies may not like it. But If you want a film that’ll make you think, that’ll move you, and will have you thinking about it days after, then this is a film you’ll want to watch.

To sum up, gorgeous, thought provoking, amazing acting

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? No, It was amazing, but I don’t like films that make me sad D’:

Stars: 5/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Suffragette film review

Carol film review

7 thoughts on “The Danish girl film review

  1. MyBookJacket 07/01/2016 / 2:34 am

    This is something I’ve been dying to watch from the day I saw the trailer! But I just haven’t had e chance to and then I forgot. The cinematography left quite the impression even in the couple of minutes the trailer gave it. I’ll have to watch it now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

