Daddy’s home film review

UK release date: 26/12/15

Runtime: 96 minutes

Directed by: Sean Anders

Starring: Will Ferrell, Mark Wahlberg, Linda Cardellini

I’ve enjoyed many comedies starring Will Ferrell, (Elf, Step brothers, Blades of glory…), so I had high hopes for this film.

It is well made if a little obvious plot wise. There’s nothing inherently wrong with it. I just didn’t find it funny and it needs to be funny to make this a great film. It’s all about the funny. I’ll admit it did make me smile, but only a few times and, that isn’t good enough for a comedy. It just seemed to be missing something.

I was expecting lots of hilarious circumstances, but by the time we got to the ‘funny’ moments, they weren’t funny. It all just seemed a little awkward and to be honest. I was wincing and cringing at moments.

I found it unbelievable that children would really act like that so it took my enjoyment away from it.

I loved Wahlberg and Ferrell. They did excellent in the parts they had, but this isn’t a rememberable comedy or their best films.

The fifteen minutes was satisfying and does achieve a chuckle. Although, I don’t enjoy the whole narrating thing.

To sum up, Not funny, well made, not the best

Was it worth the watch? No, particularly not at the cinema

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 3/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Sisters film review

Grown ups film review

4 thoughts on “Daddy’s home film review

  1. Rachel 05/01/2016 / 7:59 pm

    I’m not a Will fan, but I thought this movie actually looked pretty good. Maybe I’ll wait, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 05/01/2016 / 8:13 pm

      It’s not a badly made film. I was just expecting more laugh out loud moments…are any, ha.

      Like

      • Rachel 05/01/2016 / 9:08 pm

        I’m not much of a movie person anyway, lol. So if I see it, I see it. I won’t be heartbroken if I don’t.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

