Joy film review

UK release date: 1/1/16

Runtime: 124 minutes

Directed by:David O. Russell

Starring: Jennifer Lawerence, Robert De Niro, Edgar Ramirez, Diane Ladd, Virginia Madsen, Isabella Rossellini, Bradley Cooper

Joy is pretty joyless. Had to go there, not even sorry.

Joy is a semi-biographical that is loosely based on Joy Mangano. First off, why would you make it loosely based on the lady in question? Seems completely pointless to me.

The lack of commitment to either making a dramatic, tension film or the true story of Joy Mangano. It makes me wonder what events were true and if the portrayal of the characters in the film were true.

Even before I discovered it was only loosely based, I found it unrealistic, as if they’d made events over the top to create drama. Yet our Main Character seemed stifled. I don’t understand how this story needed two hours to be told. I’m not quite sure what story it wanted to tell.

Everyone seemed stifled in their roles. And while Jennifer Lawerence did a good job with what she had, she looked too young for her role so I couldn’t fully invest in her.

It was OK, but not that good and will be forgotten soon enough.

To sum up, Confusing, not that bad, Forgettable

Was it worth the watch? No, particularly not at the cinema

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 2/6

13 thoughts on “Joy film review

  1. Damien Riley 04/01/2016 / 8:03 pm

    Couldn’t agree more. I don’t mind wacky and quirky, one of my favorite films is Nacho Libre for example. I lost interest when I clearly saw De Niro become a slave to a script that was so beneath him. I kept longing for characters that resonated, these didn’t. Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. newguy87 04/01/2016 / 8:12 pm

    Nice Review, i didn’t have a clue what was going on most of the time, turns out Jennifer lawrence can’t sale mops

    Like

  3. Cait @ Paper Fury 05/01/2016 / 2:35 am

    I don’t even really know what this is about?? But I saw a little film clip and it didn’t excite me at all, so merp, I think I would just take your advice and skip it!!
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 05/01/2016 / 8:25 am

      It’s about the woman who invented the miracle mop or, well, loosely based on her. :/

      Like

  4. The Galaxial Word 05/01/2016 / 9:36 am

    I’m was planning on watching this with my friend next week but I’m having seconds thoughts, especially after reading numerous critical reviewers, including yours. But to be honest, the plot just screams: “boring”. I mean, miracle mop . It’s a mop for god’s sake, who the hell is going to watch a movie about a mop. Literally the only reason I would watch this movie now is because of Jennifer Lawrence. But you know what? That’s probably a good enough reason XD #HardCoreFan

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 05/01/2016 / 9:41 am

      If you’re a fan of Jennifer Lawrence then go for it. I would do the same for actors I love.

      It’s an OK film, but not one that’ll have you babbling about it with your friends when you come out.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Rachel 05/01/2016 / 11:49 am

    I’ve never seen the movie, but that’s because the commercials themselves were so confusing that I had no idea what it was about and no desire to watch it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 05/01/2016 / 2:58 pm

      Yes, I had no idea what it was about when I went in to watch it either. I think the trailers were confusing because the film didn’t know what it wanted to be either.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Bree 08/01/2016 / 1:49 am

    I completely agree. I was pretty disappointed with it, too. I guess that’s what I get for going out to see a movie that is, quite literally, about a mop. 😉

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 08/01/2016 / 9:39 am

      I think if it’d decided what story it wanted to tell, it might have been much better.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bree 08/01/2016 / 9:33 pm

        No problem! Thanks for your response! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

