Weekly update

I’M BACK!!

You have no idea how much I’ve missed blogging. I’m glad the break is over!

I hope everyone had a good year and, if not, you have whole new year to do so! Let’s do it!

Wow, 2015 is the year I started this blog and, I’ll admit, a whim.

I’ve watched some good films. I’ve watched some bad films. I’ve read some good books. I’ve read some bad books. But, most importantly, I’ve met some amazing people through this blog.

The blog has already been updated for the year. Although, I’ll be adding more books and films to my to watch lists as I progress. Go check them out! They’re under the book and film headings.

You’ll also find that I’ve finally made a read page where you’ll find all my book reviews. (There’s also a Watched page too.)

I’m excited for this year. I have a few goals/resolutions for it which I’ll tell you all about.

My absolute most important resolution of the year is: To not leave everything to last minute. This is one of my worst habits and something I really want to change.

I’m taking part in the Goodreads challenge and have a goal of 100 books. A nice round number, but everyone knows we all pick a lower number so we can overachieve. 

I’m hoping to read a lot more new release this year round. Particularly from indie authors. If you have suggestions than please send them my way. You can check out the review policy under the books heading.

I’m a fan of Fantasy, horror, sci fi, Dystopian mainly, but any book that looks interesting or you think is good is welcome. The only genre I don’t read is romance. It isn’t to my taste. I don’t mind if books have some in, but not if it’s a major part of the plot.

Those looking for people to review their books are welcome to approach by email, which can be found under the book section here, but please keep in mind what I mentioned above.

On the subject of books, last year, I made a point to finish each book I read even if I wasn’t enjoying it. I’m not doing that this year.

There’s nothing that zaps your desire to read more than a book you’re not enjoying. I’ll try my best, but if it’s not working then you’ll be getting a DNF review.

Another side goal is I want to write every day. The amount doesn’t really matter, but I want to get into a consistent habit of writing. You won’t hear much about this goal on here, but I’ll probably mention it on twitter.

What are your goals for the year?

I’m looking forward to getting back into the routine and hearing from you all again. Here’s to an amazing 2016!

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Weekly update

  1. MyBookJacket 03/01/2016 / 12:11 pm

    The watched and read page sounds like a great idea. And welcome back to blogging. I look forward to your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 03/01/2016 / 12:14 pm

        You sound a little like me. I’ve done something similar too keep up with my new year resolutions. (Also this way it’ll be embarrassing if I don’t actually finish them!)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 03/01/2016 / 12:34 pm

        The only one that’ll be an issue for me, beside the not do everything last minute one, is write every day one.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Rachel 03/01/2016 / 1:00 pm

    Routine, routine, routine! That’s what I’m trying to do with my reading, writing, and blogging this year. Good luck with your goals! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 03/01/2016 / 1:01 pm

      Thank you. For me, it’s definitely more important to get into a consistence routine than to worry about the actual numbers.

      Maybe halfway through the year or next year I can review that, but this is aim for now.

      Good luck to you too! \o/

      Like

      • Rachel 03/01/2016 / 1:08 pm

        If you don’t have a habit, then there’s no way you can set realistic numbers as a goal. That’s the way I see it.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny 03/01/2016 / 10:46 pm

    I set 100 books for my Goodreads challenge too! *high five* I seriously doubt I’m going to read more than 50, though, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny 04/01/2016 / 3:29 pm

        Stars Above (Lunar Chronicles #4.5), The Raven Cycle Series, A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes #2), The Martian…the list could go on forever, haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 04/01/2016 / 5:38 pm

        I’ve read The Martian it’s quite good. Some technical stuff, but it’s weaved in well.

        Some fun reads this year then!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

