The long Earth by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter book review

The_Long_Earth_UK_Book_Cover (1)

Normally, when there was nothing to do, he listened to the Silence.

The Silence was very faint here. Almost drowned out by the sounds of the mundane world. Did people in this polished building understand how noisy it was? The roar of air conditioners and computer fans, the susurration of many voices heard but not decipherable…. This was the office of the transEarth Institute, an arm of the Black Corporation. The faceless office, all plasterboard and chrome, was dominated by a huge logo, a chesspiece knight. This wasn’t Joshua’s world. None of it was his world. In fact, when you got right down to it, he didn’t have a world; he had all of them.

This is one of those rare books where I think I was more in love with the actual writing than the story. Not that the story isn’t good, but it’s so beautifully written that I found myself reading slowly so as to savour each word, each sentence.

It amazes me that this book is the combined effort of two writers, but, what amazes me more more is how seamless it reads. Personally, I can pick out those moments where I know it’s Terry Pratchett’s influence, but that’s because he’s one of my favourite Authors and it only serves to enhance my enjoyment.

I haven’t read Stephen Baxter before, but I most definitely will be doing in the future now.

While this book is Science fiction, I imagine fantasy fans would enjoy it also. It’s sort of like logical fantasy. Fantasy presented in a science fiction way. I found it all very clever.

The pace of the book is slow, like a stroll on a pleasant day. It’s not in your face, gun blazing action. It’s a book that you mull over and glean every slice of information that comes your way. I did feel the middle was stretched out a little and felt a mild impatience to get on with it.

I loved that we saw the reactions from different viewpoints, minor characters, although I was sad not to get a conclusion from some of them, I suspect this is because there stories will unfold in the following books. It’s amazing how the characters are so real and well rounded that you pity and empathize, and I use this word lightly because they aren’t really any, with the ‘bad’ guys.

It’s a book that’s left me desperate to find out what happens and with a lot to think about.

To sum up, beautiful writing, Slow pace, well rounded characters

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Yes

Would I read this Author again? Yes and Yes

Stars: 5/6

RELATED REVIEWS – 

The Hogfather book review

The wee free men book review

 

2 thoughts on “The long Earth by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter book review

  1. Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny 03/01/2016 / 11:11 pm

    Nice review! I’ll definitely check out this book some time! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

