Siblinghood (sisterhood) of the world blog award

I was nominated by the fantabulous Raquel AKA rakioddbooks. A really fun blogger who’s super great to talk to!

The rules!!

1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link to their blog in you post
2. Answer the questions the blogger who nominated you provided
3. Nominate 10 other bloggers
4. Create 10 new questions for your nominees to answer

1.Which do you prefer, Standalones or Series?

Well, judging from my book shelf, it seems I prefer series. I imagine a lot of people like series, getting to spend day after day with your favourite characters. *Sigh*
2.Which book do you wish had a movie or show adaptation?

Actually, one of my favourite books was made into a film recently. I say that, but literally the only thing the same was the names. It is the worst book to film adaption I have ever seen. I don’t even know why they put the Authors name on it.

So, I would like a good, faithful to the book adaption of The Spook’s apprentice by Joseph Delaney.
3.What’s your 2016 reading goal? (How many books, reading more from a certain genre or author etc)

I’d like to read at least 100 books in the year. There’s something satisfying about the number 100. I’d also like to read at least one new release a month. (Suggestions welcome!)

I’m still searching around for some challenges to do that would fit into the blog nicely. (Again, suggestions welcome.)

4.Which movie do you wish was based on a book?

Hmmm, errrmmm, maybe Mad Max. I watched Fury road this year and loved it. I know there are novelizations, which I haven’t read, but movie to book never seems to work very well.

Also, Krampus would’ve made a great Christmas horror book to read. And maybe The last Witch hunter might have been better as a book, (as long as Vin Diesel didn’t write it!)

5.Do you have any pets?

I do indeedy! I have a dog. He’s basically me in dog version. He’s my soul dog. I have two cats, neither like me and bully the dog.

I also have an army of fish. I’m slowly training them to help me take over the world!

Goldfish, guppies, platies and tetras. (Obviously the goldfish are in a different tank.) I would love some shrimp. The way they swim is hilariously cute!

6.Are you multilingual? Which languages can you speak?

Unfortunately not. 😦 I would love to learn a language, which I’m not sure. I have favourites, but I’m also the kind of person where I’d want to use a useful, practical one.

7.What’s a childhood food or drink that is no longer in production that you miss?

ZAPS! A toffee ice cream lolly. It is glorious. I think they’re still being made, but they’re like a collectors edition, impossible to find!
8.What are your favorite TV shows?

I don’t watch much TV. The only TV shows I liked were the Agatha Christie series.

I prefer documentaries or reality TV. I don’t mean things like big brother or X factor. Think more Ice road truckers reality TV.

I love animal/nature documentaries. Unless it’s sad ones like Vets or rescuing one. I can’t handle seeing animals in distress so I’d bawl like a baby, crawl under the covers and never, ever emerge again.

9.Which upcoming movie are you most excited about?

So many!! Deadpool, Suicide squad, Finding Dory, Star Trek: Beyond, Kung fu panda 3, Ghostbusters, Zoolander 2 and loads more that I can’t remember.

I think the ones I’m most excited about are Deadpool and Suicide squad though.

10.Which do you prefer, writing or blogging?

Ooh, wow, I’m going to have to say blogging. I like writing, but, for the most, part it can be a lonely endeavor and filled with a lot of doubt, (for me).

Blogging is very sociable and I finish and post a review each day so it doesn’t give me time to worry about how well I’ve written.

OK, I shall nominate….drum roll, please!

Books and Strips

Maggie Madly writing

Anette Reads

My life My books My escape

Erin read it

Lynns-books

The fictional reader

Writer chick

D.L.Perching

Please don’t feel beholden to do the tags!

My questions!

  1. What would you consider the most important/significant book you’ve read and why?
  2. Do you have any pets? (I stole this off you Raquel, but I’m super nosy about this. Sorry!)
  3. Which was your favourite read of 2015?
  4. What genre do you most prefer to read?
  5. Which genre do you not prefer to read?
  6. What other hobbies do you enjoy?
  7. Which book do you like to recommend to people?
  8. Favourite film of 2015?
  9. What is your favourite dessert?
  10. How do you organize your books?

 

 

19 thoughts on “Siblinghood (sisterhood) of the world blog award

  1. MyBookJacket 24/12/2015 / 3:26 pm

    Oh dogs. I love dogs. What’s his favourite thing to do. How old is he. More dog facts please. I’m getting one myself soon. Thanks for tagging me. I don’t think I know ten book bloggers to tag but I shall find them and I shall tag them.

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 24/12/2015 / 3:30 pm

      I shall find them and I shall tag them. <- I read this in Liam Neeson's voice, haha. I'm sure you don't have to have ten if you don't want to.

      His favourite thing to do is sleep, eat and play with the cats. He also likes to sing with my Dad. He's 12 years old and still acts the same as when I got him when he was two. Oooh, what breed will you be getting?!

      Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 24/12/2015 / 3:41 pm

        He sounds perfect! I hope you have pictures on your Twitter!
        I want a corgi but I’m not sure if it’ll be able to take the heat in India. If I can’t have a corgi I’ll probably take longer to decide but I’m leaning toward Beagle or a Pomeranian. I really don’t like Poms but who knows. Maybe there’s one out there that’ll steal my heart.

        Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 24/12/2015 / 3:51 pm

        That’s a relief to know. I’m hoping here as easy to train as Corgis are.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 24/12/2015 / 3:59 pm

        Are you planning to get a puppy or an adult?

        They say when choosing a puppy, you shouldn’t pick the first one that bounds over, but the one who eventually makes its way over to you.

        Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 24/12/2015 / 4:04 pm

        A puppy. I’ve heard that before. It’s because the one that runs over is an alpha and won’t be obedient right?
        I wanted to adopt from a shelter; unfortunately, most shelters here don’t have any breeds except Indian dogs. And those are kind of tall and I want a small dog.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. filmfunkel 24/12/2015 / 4:31 pm

    Congrats! Hope your Holiday season is as rewarding & best of luck on your 100-book goal! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 24/12/2015 / 4:33 pm

      Thanks, I’m not regretting it at all! Do you have any goals or challenges for the new year, movie or books?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. filmfunkel 24/12/2015 / 5:35 pm

    I’d like to get back into reading simply for fun. I mean, I read: but there’s always a string with, a point to, or a rec behind each title. It’s never free and easy and just for me anymore.

    I’d already considered a book a week. My only concern is how stringent a “challenge” to make things when the smell of obligation can easily creep into my OCD brain and botch it. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 24/12/2015 / 5:46 pm

      Maybe make it every two weeks? A week is gobbled up very easily. And start with old favourites? Definitely helped when I went through a slump. Nothing worse than reading a bad book to put you out the mood.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. rakioddbooks 25/12/2015 / 3:58 am

    yay!!! First of all Happy Holidays!
    The Spook’s Apprentice sounds like an awesome book. I think I’ve heard about the movie, something about the 7th son or something. Omg 2016 is going to be an awesome year for movies, especially with super awesome villains! Good luck on your 100-books challenge!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 25/12/2015 / 8:40 am

      I love that book. Definitely recommend checking it out and seeing if it’d be a book your’re interested in.

      I know. I love the villians, probably more than the heroes.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

