Battle royale film review

UK release date: 14/9/01

Runtime: 113 minutes

Directed by: Kinji Fukasaku

Starring: Tatsuya Fujiwara, Aki Maeda, Taro Yamamoto, Masanobu Ando, Kou Shibasaki, Chiaki Kuriyama, Takeshi Kitano

Note: This film is available on Netflix at the time of this review.

On watching this, one major thought came to mind, The Hunger games had to have been at the very least inspired by this. There a lot of similarities. Seriously.

I also discovered that the film is based on a book! I so want to read that. If there isn’t an English version then I’m going to have to learn Japanese. I’m betting it’s a much darker, brutal read than The Hunger games.

This is a Japanese film, (who are, let’s face, masters of horror and all things violently bloody), so that means you’re going to have to read subtitles unless you understand Japanese, (in which case I’m super jealous!)

I liked this film, but felt as if they decided they wanted to make a film where teenagers basically killed each other. There wasn’t a deeper plot than that. At least, if there was, it was never shared with me.

It’s entertaining enough, but has hardly any tension and I don’t worry for any of the students because it’s over before I get chance to.

There’s a big cast, which I love learning all the little stories, but it isn’t weaved together well. It sort jumps from one to the next. They did do a good job of making feel sorry for them all, even the ones I hated. Except one, you’ll know who.

The ending, which was a little anti-climatic, doesn’t match with beginning. Unless I completely missed something.

I never feel worried for our main characters either and don’t feel as if they have to make any hard choices.

The glimmer of possibility is there, but never fully realized.

To sum up, Entertaining, Half finished plot, Anti-climatic ending

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes, it’s one of those kind of films you have on in the background

Stars: 3/6

RELATED REVIEWS – 

The hunger games film review

5 thoughts on “Battle royale film review

  1. rakioddbooks 20/12/2015 / 12:42 am

    Battle Royale is one of the first Japanese movies I watched. It was awesome!!!! There’s a sequel btw. I haven’t read the manga yet. I hope you watch more Japanese movies and Korean ones too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 20/12/2015 / 12:45 am

      I absolutely love Korean and Japanese movies, and world cinema in general.

      I’m aware of the sequel and will watch it when I get my hands on it. Did you know there’s a book?!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

