Tucker and Dale vs evil film review

UK release date: 23/9/15

Runtime: 89 minutes

Directed by: Eli Craig

Starring: Tyler Labine, Alan Tudyk, Katrina Bowden, Jesse Moss

Note: This film is available on Netflix at the time of this review.

Two hillbillies are mistaken for crazed killers by a bunch of college kids.

A horror comedy spoof, it sounds like a fun watch, but pretty much from the start I knew it wasn’t going to be my cup of Tea. Still, I hoped it’d get better!

My hope was unfounded.

I found it too cliche even for a parody of the slasher genre, and I didn’t find it funny at all. And the film dragged! I felt like it was never going to end! I noticed a few mistakes too. Went in the lake, go out and are bone dry, yeah….

The college kids irritated the hell out of me by how annoyingly cliche they were. I suspect that was point, but it worked a little too well.

I felt as if I could have liked Tucker and Dale, but the whole thing was too cliche and unfunny. I didn’t like anyone else.

To sum up, Cliche, Dull, Unoriginal.

Was it worth the watch? No, I’ve seen better horror comedies

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 2/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

The Scout’s guide to the Zombie apocalypse film review

12 thoughts on “Tucker and Dale vs evil film review

  1. newguy87 18/12/2015 / 8:12 pm

    Boo, This is one i love to watch, easily in my top 3 horror comedies.

    Like

  2. rakioddbooks 19/12/2015 / 2:06 am

    I really enjoyed this movie. It certainly wasn’t the best but it was pretty entertaining.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. garethrhodes 20/12/2015 / 10:29 am

    I enjoyed this one enough, without wanting to bang the drum too hard in its favour. The Deliverance/Wrong Turn pastiche wears thin, but I found the first two acts sprightly and enjoyable, and I also like that it had an amiable heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 20/12/2015 / 10:40 am

      I think I’ve watched too many bad slasher films to enjoy a spoof of one. Haha.

      Did you hear they’re planning on a sequel?

      Like

Leave a Reply

