How the Grinch stole Christmas film review

UK release date: 15/11/00

Runtime: 104 minutes

Directed by: Ron Howard

Starring: Jim Carrey, Taylor Momsen, Jeffrey Tambor, Christine Baranski, Bill Irwin, Molly Shannon, Anthony Hopkins

Sometimes I feel like Cindy Lou and the Grinch concerning Christmas. Everything seems to be about presents nowadays. *Sigh*

Anthony Hopkins narrates occasionally throughout the film and he does it perfectly. I also love the music, particularly when it’s subtle and enhancing the scene.

I think all the Actors are amazing, but, let’s face it, Jim Carrey is AMAZING! From his facial expressions, movements and the way his speaks. Taylor Momsen is also brilliant as Cindy Lou. They’re a great double act.

The film makes me laugh several times and, to be honest, it’s one of my favourite Christmas films. It conveys a great message while still being lighthearted and funny.

Who can not like the Grinch? Well, my sister, but she’s not cool like me. 😉

To sum up, Hilarious, fast paced, Great acting

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Probably going to straight away. 😀

Stars: 6/6

RELATED REVIEWS – 

The Muppet Christmas carol film review

Arthur Christmas film review

Jingle all the way film review

6 thoughts on “How the Grinch stole Christmas film review

  1. rakiyang 15/12/2015 / 3:11 am

    Seriously, Christmas is all about the presents for me. It didn’t use to be, but now it is.
    Are you familiar with the Cracked Youtube channel? They have a segment called After Hours in which they talk about movies. In one of the episodes they mention this movie and they talk about how it’s about conforming and consumerism or something like that. They make a pretty good argument, I just suck at paraphrasing.
    Anyway, I really do like this movie and Jim Carrey is great!

    Like

  2. emmakwall 15/12/2015 / 10:07 am

    Jim Carrey is one of my favourite comedic actors, he’s FANTASTIC!!!!!!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 15/12/2015 / 10:18 am

      I love Jim carrey too! I think the only thing I didn’t find him funny in was Mr. Popper’s penguins. (Is that what it’s called?!)

      I miss the comedy of old. 😥

      Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 15/12/2015 / 10:57 am

        Mr. Popper’s Penguins yes 🙂 I actually saw that in the cinema!!!! Haha. Yeah it was more ‘standard family movie’ than his utterly brilliant 90s days. Have you seen the Dumb and Dumber sequel yet?

        I have to say my favourite is The Mask but he brings sparkle to any film he’s in 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

